Research Guides: COMM 384: Interpreting Popular Culture: Research resources

Search Tips

Use the advance search feature to group concepts

“mass media” AND women

social aspects OR society

graffiti NOT mural

Use a truncation symbol * on a root word to get all forms of the word, i.e. technolog* = technology, technologies, technological, etc…

Culture Resources

These databases are a good resource to locate articles related to Policy and Economics:

Academic OneFile
Academic OneFile is the premier source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world's leading journals and reference sources. With extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects.

Women and Social Movements Library This link opens in a new window
Organized around the history of women in social movements between 1600 and the present,
Women's Studies International This link opens in a new window
This is an index to the core disciplines in women's studies and feminist research. Coverage includes more than 586,600 records and spans from 1972 to present. Over 2,000 periodical sources are represented.
LGBT Thought and Culture This link opens in a new window
LGBT Thought and Culture is an online resource hosting books, periodicals, and archival materials documenting LGBT political, social and cultural movements throughout the twentieth century and into the present day.
Cuban Culture and Cultural Relations, 1959- Part 1: “Casa y Cultura” This link opens in a new window
Primary-source collection of ca. 45,000 fully-searchable documents from the Casa de las Américas in Havana, documenting the culture and cultural relations of Revolutionary Cuba and countries in Latin America and the Caribbean.
Bloomsbury Fashion Central This link opens in a new window
Bloomsbury Fashion Central is a dynamic digital hub for interdisciplinary research in fashion and dress. Includes the Berg Encyclopedia of World Dress and Fashion, an extensive E-Book collection, a vast image bank, and links to related reference resources.

Communication

Here are a few databases to begin your research:

Communication Source
Communication Source offers abstracts and indexing as well as full-text content from publications worldwide pertaining to Communication, Linguistics, Rhetoric and Discourse, Speech-Language Pathology, Media Studies and other fields relevant to the discipline.
SAGE Premier
Access to more than 500 journals in Business, Humanities, Social Sciences, and Science, Technology and Medicine.

ProQuest Research Library This link opens in a new window
An excellent starting place for research for a paper, particularly if one isn't sure where to begin their research.
It covers dozens of subject areas and indexes thousands of general and scholarly titles and provides full-text for a significant number of the articles included. It is an excellent starting place for research for a paper, particularly if one isn't sure where to begin their research.

Music and Art Research

If you are interested in music consider a few of the following:

Music Periodicals Database This link opens in a new window
All aspects of music, including music education, performance, ethnomusicology, musical theatre, theory, popular music forms and composition
Arts & Humanities Full Text This link opens in a new window
This database features hundreds of titles covering Art, Architecture, Design, History, Philosophy, Music, Literature, Theatre and Cultural Studies.
It is designed to complement the following indexes: ABM, Avery, BHA, BHI, DAAI, Index Islamicus, MLA, Philosopher's Index and RILM.
ARTstor This link opens in a new window
Nonprofit digital library of more than one million images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and social sciences with a suite of software tools to view, present, and manage images for research and pedagogical purposes.
ArtBabble This link opens in a new window
ArtBabble is a collection of high quality videos from numerous museums and libraries (primarily US).
Included are artist interviews, demonstrations of creating a work of art, curatorial tours, dance performances, etc. Many can be downloaded to an IPad.

Film & Entertainment

FIAF International Index to Film Periodicals Plus This link opens in a new window
This essential tool for film studies, created by the International Federation of Film Archives, indexes more than 300,000 articles from 300 of the world's foremost academic and popular film journals, dating from 1972 onward.
The database also incorporates the International Index to TV Periodicals (1979 - 1998); Treasures from the Film Archives, which identifies silent film holdings in archives around the world, and the International Directory of Film/TV Documentation Collections.
Entertainment Industry Magazine Archive This link opens in a new window
An archival research resource containing the essential primary sources for studying the history of the film and entertainment industries, from the era of vaudeville and silent movies through to 2000.
The core US and UK trade magazines covering film, music, broadcasting and theater are all included, together with film fan magazines and music press titles. Magazines have been scanned cover-to-cover in high-resolution color, with granular indexing of all articles, covers, ads and reviews.
Film & Television Literature Index with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Film & Television Literature Index with Full Text is the definitive online tool for film and television research.
It is a comprehensive bibliographic and full-text database covering the entire spectrum of television and film. Subject coverage includes film & television theory, preservation & restoration, writing, production, cinematography, technical aspects, and reviews. The database provides cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for 350 publications (and selected coverage of nearly 300), as well as full text for more than 100 journals and nearly 100 books
Film Index International This link opens in a new window
Film Index International is an international film database focusing on entertainment films and personalities FII was developed by the British Film Institute and gives full international coverage of films and film personalities from over 180 countries up to the present day.
All eras of film-making are covered, from the early silent movies to recent box-office hits. Based on the British Film Institute's Summary of Information on Film and Television (SIFT) database, FII details of over 120,000 films and 730,000 persons involved in the international film industry. All eras of film-making are covered - from the early silent movies to recent box-office hits. Coverage is from early 1900's to Present.
Arts & Humanities Citation Index This link opens in a new window
The Arts & Humanities Citation Index is a multidisciplinary database covering the journal literature of the arts and humanities. It indexes 1,100 of the world's leading arts and humanities journals, as well as covering individually selected, relevant items from over 6,800 major science and social science journals.
This database is part of USC's subscription to the Web of Science. The AHCI is also available in print in the Doheny Reference Center.

Business Related

Databases to locate business related articles:

ABI/INFORM Global
Articles from leading business journals, magazines, trade publications and newspapers including the Wall Street Journal.
Forrester
Contains market industry, consumer research reports that analyze a broad range of technology areas, such as new media, computing, networking, telecommunications, etc...Technology and market research from Forrester Research, Inc. focusing on the business implications of technology change.