Search Tips
Once you have identified your artifact generate a list of words, or Keywords that are related to your topic.
Use AND, OR, NOT to connect your phrases/keywords
to locate both morality AND norms
to locate either word discourse OR commentary
NOT will retrieve the first word, debate NOT argument
Keywords and phrases for violence: violence, bullying, peer pressure
Keywords and phrases for schools: school, high school, middle school, primary education
Keywords and phrases for video games: electronic games, electronic toys, video games, games
Sample keyword searches for a database:
violence and schools and electronic games
Types of sources:
Peer Review Journals, Magazines, Books, Case Studies, Conference Proceedings, Newspapers
Evaluating Sources
In the research process, evaluating sources is vital.Consider the following questions in order to effectively evaluate and gain a more critical understanding of your sources.
Author Authority
Who created the item? What is his or her affiliation? What is his or her relationship to the information contained in the source?
Audience and Purpose
Who is the intended audience? Why was the item created?
Accuracy and Completeness
Is the evidence reliable? Are the important points covered? How does the source compare to other similar sources? What may have been left out?
Footnotes and Documentation
Are the author's sources in secondary and reference literature clearly identified with complete citations to allow you to find the original source yourself?
Perspective and Bias
How do the author's bias and perspective inform the arguments and evidence presented?
Adapted from NYU's Primary Sources LibGuide and The Information-Literate Historian by Jenny L. Presnell (New York: Oxford University Press, 2007).
Selected Journals
- International journal of intercultural relationsIntercultural communication,Cultural relations
Cross-cultural studies, Cultural relations - Human Communicaiton ResearchHuman Communication Research concentrates on presenting the best empirical work in the area of human communication.
- Communication QuarterlyCommunication Quarterly is philosophically committed to an eclectic approach and to the publication of high quality articles.
You can search in individual journal titles.
Use the Advance Search to limit by date:
Power
AND
Women
and
Conflict
Time frame 2007-2017
Communication related Research Databases
Many of the databases listed below are subject specific. Can you identify one database that you can search for articles based on your artifact? Begin your research:
- Communication Source This link opens in a new windowIncludes articles from peer-reviewed journals and trade magazines covering mass media, marketing, communications, and related topics.
- ProQuest Research Library This link opens in a new windowthousands of general and scholarly titles and provides full-text for a significant number of the articles included. It is an excellent starting place for research for a paper, particularly if one isn't sure where to begin their research.
- Sociological AbstractsSociological Abstracts Database is a primary resource for accessing the latest research sponsored in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. The database draws information from an international selection of over 2,600 journals and other serials publications, etc...
- International Index to the Performing Arts Full TextThis database provides indexing and abstracts for more than 260 international periodicals, plus full text for more than 100 of the indexed journals. The database currently includes half a million records, the majority from the most recent ten years of each journal. IIPA covers a broad spectrum of the arts and entertainment industry - including dance, drama, theater, stagecraft, musical theater, circus performance, opera, pantomime, puppetry, magic, performance art, film, television and more.
- GenderWatch This link opens in a new windowGenderWatch features publications that focus on the impact of gender across a broad spectrum of subject areas including media, health sciences, political science, and more.
- Women's Studies International This link opens in a new windowThis is an index to the core disciplines in women's studies and feminist research. Coverage includes more than 586,600 records and spans from 1972 to present. Over 2,000 periodical sources are represented.
- PsycINFO This link opens in a new windowAbstract and citation database of scholarly literature in psychological, social, behavioral, and health sciences. Includes journal articles, books, reports, theses, and dissertations from 1806 to present.
- Historical Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new windowCovers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present, including military history, women's history, history of education, and much more.
- ProQuest Psychology Database This link opens in a new windowThis database provides abstracts and indexing for more than 640 titles, with over 540 titles available in full text. Many titles are indexed in PsycINFO.