Skip to main content

CORE 450 Los Angeles: A Polymathic Inquiry: Home

This guide introduces USC Libraries resources to students in Dr. Karin Huebner's class.

Downtown Los Angeles, California, 1900 El Pueblo de Nuestra Señora la Reina de los Ángeles de la Porciúncula, or L.A. for short. Photochrom print by the Detroit Photographic Co., copyrighted 1900.

From the Photochrom Prints Collection at the Library of Congress[PD] This picture is in the public domain

General Online Resources

USC Libraries: Main Search Box

  1. The main search box searches for USC Holdings: articles, books, archives: works best for articles, and for resources in USC Digital Library.
  2. Best search for books: Homer (pull down menu under Search)

Google Scholar

Google Scholar (searches for scholarly books and articles in scholarly journals both in USC Libraries and beyond). Make sure to log in on USC Libraries page before you search it from an off campus location.

ProQuest Research Library

ProQuest is a mutli-disciplinary collection with good coverage for scholarly journals and high quality non-scholarly sources such as newspapers and magazines. NOTE: ProQuest provides access to current and historical Los Angeles Times. Also, in Proquest, you will be able to find many dissertations devoted to various aspects of Los Angeles.  See under DATABASE QUICKLINKS.

JSTOR is a mutli-disciplinary database with full-text coverage for scholarly journals) See under DATABASE QUICKLINKS.

Gale Virtual Reference Library is a digitized library of nearly 200 multi-volume, specialized encyclopedias vetted by experts. Great fo fact checking, basic historical and biographical information.

Key Librarians to contact

Anthony Anderson (History) email: anthonya@usc.edu

Sandra Garcia Myers (Film and Television Studies) email: garciamy@usc.edu

Andrew Justice (Music) email: ajustice@usc.edu

Robert Labaree (Political Science, Public Policy, Environmental Policy) email: labaree@usc.edu

Sue Luftschein (Special Collections, Archives) email: luftsche@usc.edu

Sherry Mosley (Government Information; Urban and Regional Planning) email: smosley@usc.edu

Michael Oliveira (One National Gay & Lesbian Archives) email: mcolivei@usc.edu

Katharin Peter (Data and Statistics) email: kpeter@usc.edu

Eduardo Tinoco (Economics) email: etinoco@usc.edu

Michaela Ullmann (Special Collections, Exile Studies) email: ullmann@usc.edu

Stacy Williams (Art, Architechture, Sports Studies) email: stacyw@usc.edu

Christal Young (American Studies and Ethnicity; African American Studies) email: youngc@usc.edu

 

 

 

 

 

USC Digital Library

USC Digital Library

Los Angeles City Hall, built 1928,

USC Digital Library, California Historical Society Collection, 1860-1960