Skip to main content

Visions & Voices: Ma Rainey's Black Bottom: Finding Journal Articles

Ma Rainey's Black Bottom

Finding Journal Articles

Arts and Humanities Full Text
"...hundreds of titles covering Art, Architecture, Design, History, Philosophy, Music, Literature, Theatre and Cultural Studies."

International Index to the Performing Arts
"IPA draws its current content from more than 100 international performing arts periodicals from 9 countries, and also indexes feature performing arts articles and obituaries appearing in The New York Times and The Washington Post. IIPA covers nearly all aspects of the world of the performing arts, from the most scholarly studies to the latest crazes. Most IIPA records in the current coverage (1998 forward) contain an abstract."

Literature Criticism Online
"Gale takes literature, history and culture to the next level with its most extensive curated compilation of literary commentary available: Literature Criticism Online. The 10 individual, award-winning Gale series that comprise Literature Criticism Online represent a range of modern and historical views on authors and their works across regions, eras and genres. Imagine centuries of analysis — the scholarly and popular commentary from broadsheets, pamphlets, encyclopedias, books and periodicals — delivered in an easy format that matches the exact look and feel of the print originals..."

Literature Resource Center
"Biographies, bibliographies and critical analysis of authors from every age and literary discipline. Covers more than 90,000 novelists, poets, essayists, journalists and other writers. Integrating the Contemporary Authors, Dictionary of Literary Biography, Contemporary Literary Criticism, Classical and Medieval Literature Criticism, Nineteenth-Century Literature Criticism, Twentieth-Century Literary Criticism, Shakespearean Criticism, Drama Criticism, Poetry Criticism, Short Story Criticism, Literature Criticism from 1400 to 1800, and Children's Literature Review, this database is augmented with full-text critical material. Biographical information is also included for screenwriters, journalists, and nonfiction writers. For copyright reasons, some material from the print resources listed above may not be available in full-text."

LitFinder
"International in scope, LitFinder covers all time periods and contains a wealth of primary literature content, including more than 125,000 full-text poems, 850,000 poem citations and excerpts, and thousands of full-text short stories, essays, speeches and plays. LitFinder also includes biographies, work summaries, photographs and a glossary. A subject navigator provides more than 10,000 subject headings, and basic and advanced search modes allow users to search by keyword, author, subject, work title, work date, nationality, gender, timeline and more. International in scope, LitFinder covers all time periods and contains a wealth of primary literature content, including more than 125,000 full-text poems, 850,000 poem citations and excerpts, and thousands of full-text short stories, essays, speeches and plays. LitFinder also includes biographies, work summaries, photographs and a glossary."

MLA Bibliography
"Index to scholarly publication in literature, languages, linguistics, and folklore from over 4000 journals and series published worldwide. Indexing only: no full text."

WorldCat
"WorldCat is an online union catalog of materials held by OCLC member libraries. OCLC, Online Computer Library Center, is a nonprofit, membership, library computer service and research organization. WorldCat contains millions of bibliographic records describing items owned by libraries around the world. Item records provide information about individual library holdings. Types of materials include books, journals, musical scores, computer data files, magazines, newspapers, computer programs, sound recordings, films and slides, maps, videotapes, and manuscripts written as early as the 12th century. Updated daily."


(MA RAINEY'S BLACK BOTTOM -- Mark Taper Forum)