Sociological Abstracts Database is a primary resource for accessing the latest research sponsored in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences.
The database draws information from an international selection of over 2,600 journals and other serials publications, plus conference papers, books, and dissertations. Records added after 1974 contain in-depth and non-evaluative abstracts of journal articles. Updated monthly.
This database provides biographical information for over 500,000 people. Search for current or historic figures based on name, nationality, ethnicity, birth/death dates or places, or occupation, as well as by broad subject categories (e.g., the Obama administration, criminals, inventors, etc.), keyword and full text.
Search for current or historic figures based on name, nationality, ethnicity, birth/death dates or places, or occupation, as well as by broad subject categories (e.g., the Obama administration, criminals, inventors, etc.), keyword and full text. A sidebar on the home page includes current articles on prominent individuals. Searches can be limited to full-text and/or peer-reviewed articles.Results may include images, video, audio, podcasts, websites.Content comes from over 170 Gale reference works, as well as full-text articles from over 325 newspapers and journals. See Resources for video tutorials and other tips.
The Black Studies Center provides access to several resources at once: Schomburg Studies on the Black Experience, International Index to Black Periodicals (IIBP), 10 historical African American newspapers, Black Literature Index, 100 oral history videos in History Makers, and Black Abolitionist Papers (1830-1865).
The Bibliography of Asian Studies (BAS) contains over 737,175 records (as of July 9, 2009) on all subjects (especially in the humanities and the social sciences) pertaining to East, Southeast, and South Asia published worldwide from 1971 to the present.
Through the 1991 printed version, the BAS included citations to Western-language periodical articles, monographs, chapters in edited volumes, conference proceedings, anthologies, and Festschriften, etc. Monographs published since 1992 have not been added to the database, and users seeking such monographs are urged to consult other general resources and databases (RLIN, OCLC, etc.). The online BAS offers users various methods for seeking citations. A separate screen allows users to set their preferences for displaying and downloading data in different formats and character encodings. The BAS is updated regularly, with batch posting of thousands of new entries in each upload.
Provides access to a wide variety of primary source material from the Edward E. Ayer Collection at the Newberry Library in Chicago.
Topics covered range from early encounters between American Indians and Europeans; interactions with colonial powers and the US government; conflict, wars and military contact; the fur trade and Indian traders; education and American Indian boarding schools, and the civil rights movement and political activism. Includes manuscripts, maps, atlases, photographs, artwork, correspondence, travel journals, diaries and much more. This resource is provided by Adam Matthew.
Provides access Indian Claims Commission (ICC) materials, and the ability to trace the history of Indian claims by Indian Nation. Contains court documents, treaties, related congressional publications, and maps.
Archives of Sexuality & Gender: LGBTQ History and Culture Since 1940 covers topics including LGBTQ activism and the HIV/AIDS crisis.
It provides researchers with the documents necessary to delve deep into the Gay Rights Movement with resources that may otherwise go undiscovered. Repositories for this collection include: Lesbian Herstory Educational Foundation; Canadian Lesbian and Gay Archives; Women's Energy Bank; GLBT Historical Society; National Library of Medicine; among other archives.
LGBT Life is the premier resource to the world\'s literature regarding Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual, Transgender and Transsexual issues.
Comprehensive coverage includes traditional academic, lifestyle, and regional publications, as well as non-periodical content such as non-fiction books, bibliographies and dissertations. Disciplines include athletics, health, law, sociology, family, religion, civil liberties, employment and entertainment.
LGBT Thought and Culture is an online resource hosting books, periodicals, and archival materials documenting LGBT political, social and cultural movements throughout the twentieth century and into the present day.
The collection includes documents ranging from letters, speeches, interviews, and ephemera covering the political evolution of gay rights as well as memoirs, biographies, poetry, letters and works of fiction that illuminate the lives of lesbians, gays, transgendered, and bisexual individuals and the community.
"Homophile Movement" refers to organizations and political strategies employed by the GLBT community prior to the era of confrontational activism of the 1970s.
Donald Stewart Lucas was a gay rights pioneer, leader of the Mattachine Society, and an advocate for the poverty stricken. The papers document the difficulties of gay men in 1950s -1960s, the history of organizations the Mattachine Foundation, the Mattachine Society, Pan-Graphic Press, the Council on Religion and the Homosexual, the Society for Individual Rights, and the Economic Opportunity Council of San Francisco.
The system provides selective subjects and bibliographic access to periodicals, books, hearings, reports, gray literature, government publications, Internet resources, and other publications from 120 countries. Materials are in English, French, German, Italian, Portuguese, and Spanish with English language abstracts and subject headings. The database contains more than 480,000 records, each with bibliographic information and brief, descriptive abstracts and includses coverage from 1915 to the present.