Recognized as one of the greatest achievements of twentieth-century scholarship, the Bibliography of American Literature describes in exhaustive detail the works of America's most important literary writers from the time of the Revolution to 1930
More than 37,000 works are listed, essentially the complete printed record of American literature from the eighteenth and nineteenth centuries.
Essay and General Literature Index, produced by the H.W. Wilson Company, is a unique reference database that cites records contained in collections of essays and miscellaneous works published in the United States, Great Britain, and Canada.
More than 320 single and multi-authored volumes are indexed annually with more than 20 selected annuals and serial publications.
This is the most comprehensive database in this field, with more than 100,000 pages of fiction and poetry representing Chicano and Latin American writers working in the United States.
The drama section will soon include over 450 plays, with 500 photographs on the Hispanic Theater. The majority of works are from the 20th c., from the Chicano Renaissance to the present day. The groups represented are Chicanos, Puerto Ricans, Cubans, Argentineans, Dominicans, and Central Americans. Supplementary items included are playbills and performance material, poetry readings, book presentation flyers, book covers, and photographs. All items are indexed and linked to the texts. Texts are in English or Spanish.
The Bibliography of Asian Studies (BAS) contains over 737,175 records (as of July 9, 2009) on all subjects (especially in the humanities and the social sciences) pertaining to East, Southeast, and South Asia published worldwide from 1971 to the present.
Through the 1991 printed version, the BAS included citations to Western-language periodical articles, monographs, chapters in edited volumes, conference proceedings, anthologies, and Festschriften, etc. Monographs published since 1992 have not been added to the database, and users seeking such monographs are urged to consult other general resources and databases (RLIN, OCLC, etc.). The online BAS offers users various methods for seeking citations. A separate screen allows users to set their preferences for displaying and downloading data in different formats and character encodings. The BAS is updated regularly, with batch posting of thousands of new entries in each upload.