Skip to main content

WRIT 340 : Grant Funding: Researching a Funder

This guide is intended to help you locate appropriate funders and resources in order to complete a grant proposal.

Funding Resources

California Community Foundation

The California Endowment

The California Wellness Foundation - Provides grants that support health promotion, wellness education and disease prevention in California.

The State of California Grant Resources - Provides grants ranging from business to community development to transportation and more.

Women's Foundation of California - Find and apply for federal grants. Managed by the United States Department of Health and Human Services.

HRSA - Health Resources & Services Administration, an agency of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services. Provides funding to programs that provide health care to people who are geographically isolated, economically or medically vulnerable. for Nonprofits - Get government information and help with starting and growing a business or non-profit.

The Annenberg Foundation

Bank of America

Hewlett Foundation

Orange County Community Foundation

Dwight Stuart Youth Foundation

Kaiser Permanente for Southern California

Mazon : A Jewish Response to Hunger

Pacific Life Foundation


James Irvine Foundation

The Chronicle of Philanthropy

United Way - Various ways of giving: Through member organizations, donor designations, and targeted issues grants. Contact the United Way to obtain information about each method of giving.  

Wells Fargo

The Weingart Foundation - Provides grants and other support designed to improve the capacity and sustainability of nonprofit organizations to provide effective services in the areas of health, human services, and education.

The Chronicle of Philanthropy - Subscription required. Provides listings of grants through GrantStation.

Foundation Center Search - Maintains a comprehensive list of foundations and philanthropic organizations.

Grant Forward - Grant database where users can search for funding opportunities. Sign up with USC email is required.

The Grantsmanship Center - Provides funding resources by state along with other resources for grand funding. 

Nonprofit Times

Philanthropy News Digest - Listing of upcoming request for proposals (RFPs) from philanthropic sources.


GuideStar - Provides profiles, reports and financial information on IRS-registered nonprofit organizations. Create a free account to view most information with an option to upgrade to premium at a cost.  


Loading ...

Reference & Instruction Librarian