Free Resources
The following resources are freely available resources for city or county agencies. Do you need information specific to Los Angeles related to housing or employment? You may consider of of these resources.
Culver City
Looking for information about Culver City? Try on of the following resources:
Inglewood, CA
There is more to Inglewood than being the home for the LA Rams. Checkout the Inglewood city resources.
Compton, CA
Want to know who serves on the Compton City Council? Search the City of Compton resources.
- City of ComptonKnown as the Hub City because of its location in nearly the exact geographical center of Los Angeles County, the City of Compton is one of the oldest cities in the county and the eighth to incorporate.
Los Angeles
Healthy City provides data and mapping tools to help you build a better community.
- Los Angeles CountyThe five-member Board of Supervisors, created by the state Legislature in 1852, is the governing body of the County of Los Angeles. Along with the Board, the voters of LA County elect an Assessor, District Attorney, and Sheriff. As a subdivision of the state, the County is charged with providing numerous services that affect the lives of all residents.
- City Council - City of Los AngelesThe Council is the governing body of the City, except as otherwise provided in the Charter, and enacts ordinances subject to the approval or veto of the Mayor.
- Los Angeles Unified School DistrictLos Angeles Unified School District resources.
- Department of Public Health - Los Angeles CountyThe Los Angeles County Department of Public Health protects health, prevents disease, and promotes the health and well-being for all persons in Los Angeles County.
- Los Angeles Housing And Community Investment DepartmentThe Los Angeles Housing + Community Investment Department, or HCIDLA for short, integrating the operations of the Los Angeles Housing Department and the Community Development Department.
- Welcome to City-DataBy collecting and analyzing data from numerous sources, we're able to create detailed, informative profiles of all cities in the United States. From crime rates to weather patterns, you can find the data you're looking for on City-Data.com
- HEALTHMap This link opens in a new windowAn interactive world map noting current diseases, as well as breaking reports of infectious diseases.
- RAND State Statistics (current) This link opens in a new windowContains nearly 200 Social Science databases covering all 50 U.S. states. The California (CA) collection contains these 200 U.S. databases, plus about 80 detailed databases on California. The Texas (TX) collection contains these 200 U.S. databases, plus about 60 detailed databases on Texas.
Los Angeles County government agencies for local informaiton.
Downtown Los Angeles
Downtown Los Angeles has many neighborhoods and areas such as, Bunker Hill, Skid Row, the Financial District, Pershing Square, Olvera Street, Union Station and many more....
Los Angeles Civic Center looking towards City Hall, showing Bunker Hill at left, ca.1940-1949, Source: “University of Southern California. Libraries” and “California Historical Society”
Santa Monica, CA
- City of Santa MonicaLocal governmental information about Santa Monica
- Santa Monica School DistrictEducation related information.
- Santa Monica Police DepartmentInformation about the city and police department.
City of Gardena
How are the elected officials in Gardena? Search the City of Gardena resources to located the information.
South Pasadena
Is there a difference between South Pasadena and Pasadena? Use the South Pasadena link to learn more.
Torrence, CA
What's happening in Torrence? Use the city or school link.
California
Looking for employment information? Try the Bureau of Labor Statistics to locate the number of jobs, unemployment statistics, types of jobs in a city or state or other information.
Don't see what you need? Try browsing the list of state ageniceis.
- State of CaliforniaThe CA.gov portal serves as the front door to all State department websites, providing immediate access to major topic areas, news, hundreds of online services, and millions of pages of web content. Links to local help directories are provided on the homepage.
- California Statistical AbstractCompilation of data on social, economic, and physical aspects of the State published by the Department of Finance.
- Department of Corrections and RehabilitationOffender Information Reports
- Department of EducationData and statistics collected from California schools.
- Department of FinanceIncludes state budget.
- Department of Public HealthIncludes: vital statistics, marriage data, communicable disease data, H1N1 Inluenza, HIV/AIDS and other related topics.
- Employment Development DepartmentLabor market statistics.
- Office of the Attorney General, Crime DataIncludes link to the Criminal Justice Statistics Center.
Los Angeles
Also check state and national sources for Los Angeles-specific statistics. For example, the United States Bureau of Labor Statistics provides current umemployment and related estimates for the Los Angeles MSA.
- Los Angeles Police Department Crime MapProvided access to crime information (from police reports) by date, location and type.
- Crime and Arrests StatisticsPage by Los Angeles County Sheriff's Department. Data goes back to 1996.
- Greater Los Angeles Homeless CountCompiled by the Los Angeles Homeless Services Authority in 2005, 2007, 2009 and 2011.