Skip to main content

Showcasing Digital Scholarship at USC: Mapping@USC


This event, Mapping@USC, organized by Michaela Ullmann (USC Libraries, Special Collections), will provide an overview of several projects using mapping to enhance research and engagement with library research collections. All these projects transform existing resources into new, digital content. Several of these projects were realized with the help of former USC Libraries’ GIS Fellow Andy Rutkowski.

Tools used for the mapping activities include Omeka, ArcGIS, and Google Maps.


Program date and place:

October 14, 2015: 1:00 - 2:30 p.m.  Doheny Memorial Library room 206 (2nd floor, Special Collections Department)

To RSVP go to:

Program and Speakers


Mapping the Nuremberg ChronicleLindsay O’Neill (History, Dornsife) and Michaela Ullmann (Special Collections). Students Emily Hodgkins and Leonard Butingan.

      Lindsay O’Neill and Michaela Ullmann collaborated on a project involving students in Lindsay’s HIST498 The Print Revolution course. The students mapped woodcuts from the Nuremberg Chronicle, a 1493 incunabulum.  The activity not only allowed students to interact closely with this rare and important book, but also provided a new way for the creation of class assignments. Students Emily Hodgkins and Leonard Butingan will share their perspectives on the project,

      For information about incunabula, rare books, and manuscripts, see our Special Collections Guide.





Mapping German Exiles in Los Angeles Britta Bothe (German, Dornsife College of Letters, Arts and Sciences) and Michaela Ullmann (Special Collections). Student Claudia Kosylak.

      Britta Bothe and Michaela Ullmann worked with students in Britta’s German494 The German Exile Experience course in creating the digital map German Exiles in Los Angeles. As class assignments, students conducted original research in USC’s Special Collections and created the content for the platform that allows users to learn more about the individual German Exiles and their journeys.

      About the Exiled German-speaking intellectuals in Southern California, see:

      About the Feuchtwanger Memorial Library see:





Archival GIS: Mapping Gay Bars in Los Angeles from 1965 to the PresentJoseph Hawkins (Director, ONE Archives [National Gay and Lesbian Library and Archives], USC Libraries)

     Joseph Hawkins will talk about a collaborative project in which items from the collections of the ONE Archives were mapped, thus allowing for the creation of new ways to explore the archival holdings.

      For the ONE National Gay & Lesbian Archives at the USC Libraries (the largest repository of Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender, Queer (LGBTQ) materials in the world) see:  ONE National Gay & Lesbian Archives at the USC Libraries         


Mapping. A Bitter Renaissance. An Online Visual Guide to Pre-World War II Jiangnan. Ken Klein, Head, East Asian Library.

      Ken Klein will talk about a mapping project in which he mapped a selection of items from China from the 1920s and 1930s. The project served as a pilot effort to relate archival items from disparate collections in space and time and provides alternative unbiased access to primary source materials.

      For information on archival collections relating to Westerners' involvement in East Asia between the 1840s  and 1940s, see:  Pacific Rim Archives





Library Research Guides:

Spacial Sciences & GIS  (by Katharin Peter, USC Libraries)  







Please give us your feedback

We welcome your feedback on any of the events in this research guide, as well as any suggestions for topics of interest that you may have. Please email Danielle Mihram at with comments or questions.