Library Resources for the General Education Curriculum: Primary Resources

Library Instruction and Specialized Research Collections

On this tab, you will find library instruction activities and assignments that connect the GE Curriculum to the USC Libraries' Special Collections.

Special Collections serves as the access point for the Libraries' holdings of rare books and manuscripts, most of the University's archival collections, the Regional History Collections, the American Literature Collection, Spanish, Portuguese, Latin American and Latino Studies (Boeckmann Center for Iberian & Latin American Studies), USC's University Archives, and the California Social Welfare Archives.  [Additional archival collections can be found in the Cinematic Arts Library, East Asian Library, Music Library, Architecture and Fine Arts Library, and ONE National Gay & Lesbian Archives.]

 

Outcome: Evaluating Ideas from Multiple Perspectives

The activity below can be used with primary sources in any subject area, and asks students to analyze the forces and perspectives behind the creation of an array of primary and secondary sources.

Outcome: Formulating a Research Question

The activity below asks students to analyze a book not just as a container of knowledge, but as an artifact of its time, place, and author. Students are asked to formulate a research question based on examining the book as an artifact.

Information for First-Time Users of Special Collections

Primary Sources Research Award

The annual USC Libraries Research Award recognizes excellence in the use of primary sources.

Undergraduate and graduate students are invited to submit papers or projects they have completed at USC in a for-credit class or independent study during the Spring, Summer, and Fall semester