Skip to main content

The Digital Humanities: Digital Libraries and Resources

DIGITAL LIBRARIES

CENDARI (Collaborative European Digital Archive Infrastructure) is a research collaboration aimed at integrating digital archives and resources for research on medieval and modern European history.

Digital Public Library of America (Launched 18 April 2009). A portal that provides innovative ways to search and scan through the united collection of millions of items, including by timelinemapvirtual bookshelfformat, subject, and partner. and a platform that enables new and transformative uses of our digitized cultural heritage.  

Hemisperic Institute Digital Video Library  The first major digital video library of performance practices in the Americas. Created in partnership with NYU Libraries and with the support of the Andrew W. Mellon Foundation, this growing repository guarantees historical preservation and free, online access to more than 600 hours of video through the Hemispheric Institute website.

Medical Heritage Library Images and digital collections in the history of medicine and science.

US National Library of Medicine  Digital Projects:  Includes digital collections (rich, historical resources); films and videos, historical anatomies, as well as "The Visible Human Project": anatomically detailed, three-dimensional representations of male and female human bodies; medical masterpieces from past centuries.

World Digital LibraryLaunched (14 April 2009) by the UN Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization and 32 partner institutions, it is the world's third major digital library, after Google Book Search and the EU's Europeana. it provides free access to rare books, maps, manuscripts/calligraphy, films and photographs from libraries and archives worldwide.  It aims to reduce the rich-poor digital divide, expand "non-Western" content on the web, promote better understanding between cultures and provide a global teaching resource.