Skip to main content

The Digital Humanities: Associations and Conferences

ASSOCIATIONS AND CONFERENCES

Alliance of Digital Humanities Associations.  "The Alliance of Digital Humanities Organizations (ADHO) promotes and supports digital research and teaching across all arts and humanities disciplines, acting as a community-based advisory force, and supporting excellence in research, publication, collaboration and training." 

Alliance for Networking Visual Culture  (Founded at the University of Southern California). Seeks to enrich the intellectual potential of our fields to inform understandings of an expanding array of visual practices as they are reshaped within digital culture, while also creating scholarly contexts for the use of digital media in film, media and visual studies. It has forged strategic partnerships with several archives (including the Shoah Foundation InstituteCritical Commons, the Hemispheric Institute’s Digital Video Library, and the Internet Archive), libraries, humanities centers, and university presses (including Michigan, MIT, California, OHP, NYU and Duke) provide the testing ground for the investigation of new publishing templates. The Alliance aims to close the gap between carefully created digital visual archives and scholarly publication by enabling scholars to work more organically with archival materials, creating interpretive pathways through the materials and enabling new forms of analysis.

Association for Computers and the Humanities. "Through our activitiesconferences, and publications, we support computer-assisted research, teaching, and software and content development in humanistic disciplines."   

Australasian Association for Digital HumanitiesFormed in March 2011 to strengthen the digital humanities research community in Australia and New Zealand. A member of the international Alliance of Digital Humanities Organisations (ADHO), this professional association acts to support and extend links between digital humanities researchers, improve professional development opportunities and provide international leverage for local projects and initiatives. It organises the Digital Humanities Australasia conference every two years and provides a range of other opportunities for fostering understanding of digital technologies in the humanities.  

Australian e-Humanities Gateway.  "Designed as a reference point for those involved in or seeking information about projects and events concerned with the use of digital resources in humanities disciplines in Australia. It is an initiative of the Australian e-Humanities Network, a group funded by the Australian Research Council, including representatives from the Australian Academy of the Humanities, the University of Sydney and the University of Newcastle, in order to develop links between current activities in the e-Humanities field and form bases for future projects."

Canadian Society for Digital Humanities/ Societe Canadienne des Humanites Numeriques. "Our objective is to draw together humanists who are engaged in digital and computer-assisted research, teaching, and creation."  

Congress of the Humanities and Social Sciences.  This annual Congress  is the convergence of over 70 scholarly associations, each holding their annual conference under one umbrella.  Held seven days in late May and early June, and attracting an average of 8,000 attendees, it is hosted by a different Canadian university each year.  

Digital Americanists.  A "scholarly society dedicated to the study of American literature and digital media."  

Digital Classicists.  A "decentralised and international community of scholars and students interested in the application of innovative digital methods and technologies to research on the ancient world."  A web-based hub for discussion, collaboration and communication that includes: seminars, discussion  list, a blog, and a wiki.

Digital Frontiers Annual Conference. "Digital Frontiers is a conference and community that explores creativity and collaboration across disciplinary boundaries in the arena of public humanities and cultural memory. Established in 2012 to respond to the need for an affordable, high-quality conference that addressed the emerging field of digital humanities from a variety of perspectives, Digital Frontiers is a truly interdisciplinary experience. The conference brings together scholars and students, librarians and archivists, genealogists and public historians to share their experience of using digital resources in the humanities."

Digital Humanities Annual Conferences, Sponsored by the Alliance of Digital Humanities Organizations (ADHO)        

Digital Medievalist.  An "international web-based community for medievalists working with digital media. It was established in 2003 to help scholars meet the increasingly sophisticated demands faced by designers of contemporary digital projects. Digital Medievalist publishes an open access journal, sponsors conference sessions, runs an email discussion list and encourages best practice in digital medieval resource creation."

DIGITALMEETSCULTURE is intended as a portal for gathering information about the digital culture in the world, taking into account the different approaches that science, cultural heritage and arts have to the digital age. This portal aims to act as a reference point and as a valuable mean of information and communication for different users in a global dimension. It is conceived as a meeting place between technologies and arts & humanities.  See events for workshops, conferences, summer programs.

EighteenthCentury.org.  "went online December 14, 2008 with the goal of becoming an accessible, flexible, powerful collaborative tool for those interested in learning about, researching, & teaching the eighteenth century. Publications include journals (searchable via our USC databases such as: Project MuseProquest, and JSTOR) : Early American Studies,  Early American Literature,  The Eighteenth Century,  Eighteenth-Century Studies,  Eighteenth-Century Life,  Eighteenth-Century Fiction,  Studies in Eighteenth-Century Culture.

European Association for Digital Humanities [EADH] (formerly: Association for Literary and Linguistic Computing (ALLC) The EADH brings together and represents the Digital Humanities in Europe across the entire spectrum of disciplines that research, develop, and apply digital humanities methods and technology. These include art history, cultural studies, history, image processing, language and literature studies, manuscripts studies, and musicology, amongst others. The EADH also supports the formation of DH interest groups in Europe that are defined by region, language, methodological focus or other criteria. 

HASTAC [ Humanities, Arts, Science, and Technology Alliance and Collaboratory]. An "alliance of more than 13,000 humanists, artists, social scientists, scientists and technologists working together to transform the future of learning. Since 2002, HASTAC (“haystack”) has served as a community of connection where members share news, tools, research, insights, and projects to promote engaged learning for a global society. "    For a calendar of Events and Conferences click here  

Some things to check out from the HASTAC 2015 conference (held May 27-30, 2015 at the Kellogg Center on the campus of Michigan State University) :

Institute for Digital Research in the Humanities. Founded in 2010. "The Institute for Digital Research in the Humanities (IDRH) provides resources and trai­ning in the practices and tools of the digital humanities, facilitating interdisciplinary academic collaborations and innovative externally-funded research."

Japanese Association for Digital Humanities.   "One of the aims of JADH2013 is to raise awareness regarding the efforts of humanities researchers so that we may provide new support for various approaches toward transcending borders in the field of digital humanities."  

Romantic Circles. A "refereed scholarly Website devoted to the study of Romantic-period literature and culture. It is the collaborative product of an ever-expanding community of editors, contributors, and users around the world."   

NETWORKING ON A GLOBAL SCALE

"centerNet is an international network of digital humanities centers formed for cooperative and collaborative action to benefit digital humanities and allied fields in general, and centers as humanities cyberinfrastructure in particular."  

"Anchored by its new publication DHCommonscenterNet enables individual DH Centers to network internationally — sharing and building on projects, tools, staff, and expertise. Through initiatives such as Day(s) of DH and Resources for Starting and Sustaining DH CenterscenterNet provides a virtual DH center for isolated DH projects and platform for educating the broader scholarly community about Digital Humanities."    http://digitalhumanities.org/centernet/about/

DIGITALMEETSCULTURE is intended as a portal for gathering information about the digital culture in the world, taking into account the different approaches that science, cultural heritage and arts have to the digital age. This portal aims to act as a reference point and as a valuable mean of information and communication for different users in a global dimension. It is conceived as a meeting place between technologies and arts & humanities.  See events for workshops, conferences, summer programs.

Regional Groups

Decoding Digital Humanities London.  Informal monthly meetings "for anyone interested in research at the intersection of computational technologies and the humanities. These gatherings provide an opportunity to discuss readings and raise questions, but also to mingle and share ideas with others in the field of digital humanities."  

Digital Humanities Southern California.  A "collaborative network of professionals from various fields in the digital humanities.  We interpret "Southern California" as including everything from Santa Barbara south to the border, with the understanding that DH SoCal serves people living and working within easy driving distance of one another." 

Digital Scholarship [Toronto] (DISC).  "Digital Scholarship (DISC) is a grassroots online forum for the sharing of news, ideas, and expertise related to all aspects of digital scholarship in the Greater Toronto Area and beyond."  

EighteenthCentury.org.  "went online December 14, 2008 with the goal of becoming an accessible, flexible, powerful collaborative tool for those interested in learning about, researching, & teaching the eighteenth century. Publications include journals: Early American Studies,  Early American Literature,  The Eighteenth Century,  Eighteenth-Century Studies,  Eighteenth-Century Life,  Eighteenth-Century Fiction,  Studies in Eighteenth-Century Culture.

 

Learning about Forthcoming Conferences

Conference Alerts - Academic Conferences Worldwide.  May be searched by key words (e.g., digital humanities), by topic (areas of interest) as well as by country or city,  Click on Subscribe to begin receiving conference information and email alerts about events in your areas of interest.

Conference Calendar (Digital Humanities, Digital Archives, Digital Libraries, and Digital Museums). 

Educause Events To find an event that meets your needs—by geographic location, available dates, face-to-face or online venues, or desired focus area (Search: digital humanities)