Skip to main content

The Digital Humanities: Journals

ABOUT THIS PAGE

The USC Libraries provide access to over 113,800 serials in print and electronic formats.   The journals listed on this page provide an illustrative sampling of research in the digital humanities published in journals worldwide.  

JOURNALS - ACCESS VIA USC DATABASES

The journals appearing on this page publish articles applicable to all disciplines engaged in the digital humanities.  

The list below includes a very small sampling of journals with full text of articles available via our USC databases.   

IEEE MultiMedia "contains technical information covering a broad range of issues in multimedia systems and applications. The information consists of articles, product reviews, new product descriptions, book reviews and announcements of conferences and workshops."

International Journal of Humanities and Arts Computing (formerly History and Computing) This journal is "one of the world’s premier multi-disciplinary, peer-reviewed forums for research on all aspects of arts and humanities computing. It focuses both on conceptual or theoretical approaches and case studies or essays demonstrating how advanced information technologies further scholarly understanding of traditional topics in the arts and humanities."

Language Resources and Evaluation (formerly: Computers and the Humanities (1966-2004).  The "first publication devoted to the acquisition, creation, annotation, and use of language resources, together with methods for evaluation of resources, technologies, and applications." 

Literary and linguistic computing "an international journal which publishes material on all aspects of computing and information technology applied to literature and language research and teaching.  "

New Review of Hypermedia and Multimedia "is a leading international interdisciplinary journal providing a focus for research covering practical and theoretical developments in hypermedia, hypertext, and interactive multimedia. Through the integration and linking of images, sound, text and data these systems provide users with a more diverse and richly textured interaction with information."  

 

 

 

 

 

JOURNALS - OPEN ACCESS

Directory of Open Access Journals (Access via USC Databases)  "DOAJ is an online directory that indexes and provides access to quality open access, peer-reviewed journals. ...   The DOAJ aims to be comprehensive and cover all open access scientific and scholarly journals that use a quality control system to guarantee the content."  

The list below includes a very small sampling of open access  journals

Ariadne    Ariadne is provided by the University of Bath Library to inform policy-makers and practitioners in Higher Education libraries and associated sectors of developments in the online environment.. Since its launch in January 1996 by UKOLN, it has attempted to keep the busy practitioner abreast of current digital library initiatives as well as technological developments further afield.

Digital Humanities Now  Since 2009, Digital Humanities Now is an experimental, edited publication that highlights and distributes informally published digital humanities scholarship and resources from the open web.

Digital Medievalist  Digital Medievalist is an international web-based community for medievalists working with digital media. It was established in 2003 to help scholars meet the increasingly sophisticated demands faced by designers of contemporary digital projects.  

D-Lib Magazine   D-Lib Magazine is an electronic publication with a focus on digital library research and development, including new technologies, applications, and contextual social and economic issues....The primary goal of the magazine is timely and efficient information exchange for the digital library community to help digital libraries be a broad interdisciplinary field, and not a set of specialties that know little of each other.

Educause Review Online "The online version comprises more comprehensive coverage, with the content of the print magazine plus peer-reviewed articles, practical advice and guidance, interactive elements, and multimedia about managing and using information resources in higher education."   

First Monday  "one of the first openly accessible, peer–reviewed journals on the Internet, solely devoted to the Internet. Since its start in May 1996, First Monday has published 1,389 papers in 219 issues, written by 1,905 different authors."

FibreCulture Journal    First published: 2003.  We work with those thinking critically about, and working with, contemporary digital and networked media.

IMEros  An annual journal for culture and technology published by the Foundation of the Hellenic World. Articles in Greek and English

Journal of Digital Humanities "a comprehensive, peer-reviewed, open access journal that features the best scholarship, tools, and conversations produced by the digital humanities community in the previous trimester."  

Journal of electronic publishing a forum for research and discussion about contemporary publishing practices, and the impact of those practices upon users. ...At its inception in January 1995, JEP carved out an important niche by recognizing that print communication was in the throes of significant change, and that digital communication would become an important—and in some cases predominant—means for transmitting published information." 

Text Technology  "an eclectic journal for academics and professionals around the world, supplying articles devoted to any use of computers to acquire, analyze, create, edit, or translate texts."

Vectors - Journal of Culture and Technology in a Dynamic Vernacular .   "Vectors maps the multiple contours of daily life in an unevenly digital era, crystallizing around themes that highlight the social, political, and cultural stakes of our increasingly technologically-mediated existence. As such, the journal speaks both implicitly and explicitly to key debates across varied disciplines, including issues of globalization, mobility, power, and access. Operating at the intersection of culture, creativity, and technology, the journal focuses on the myriad ways technology shapes, transforms, reconfigures, and/or impedes social relations, both in the past and in the present."