Skip to main content

A Midsummer Night's Dream: Find Articles & Books

This LibGuide was created to accompany the Visions & Voices event: A Midsummer Night's Dream . On Thursday, April 10, USC students will have a chance to attend Bristol Old Vic with Handspring Puppet Company's performance of A Midsummer Night's Dream.

Article Search

Try this search query:
Love's Labour's Lost

Google Scholar Search

Recommended search:

Highlight and "Copy" the query in the search box you see below. Then click "search" and paste this query into your Google Scholar window. This will help you find related articles, including reviews and scholarly essays, from Google Scholar.

 

Literature & Theater Databases (Selected)

IIPA (International Index to the Performing Arts - Full Text)
"...a performing arts resource with over half a million indexed articles, plus detailed abstracts and full text from 1864 to the present, covering theatre, dance and film."

MLA International Bibliography
"Index to scholarly publications in literature, language, linguistics, and folklore from over 4000 journals published worldwide."

The Shakespeare Collection
"Use The Shakespeare Collection to access and study an extensive collection of authoritative materials supporting literary, textual, historical, and performance studies. Resources include the most recent Arden Shakespeare editions of the complete works, as well as editions and adaptations of Shakespeare's works, other works published during Shakespeare's time, prompt books, the Gordon Crosse Theatrical Diaries, criticism, reviews, images, and reference. "

Shakespeare in LION (Literature Online

  • Texts By William Shakespeare - view primary works
  • Search within Texts - search Shakespeare's primary works by keyword or title
  • Resources - view all works about Shakespeare
  • Criticism - journal articles and citations
  • Bibliography - a complete list of the author's works in all genres
  • Biography - an introduction to Shekespeare's life and works
  • Reference - reference articles on Shakespeare
  • Web Sites - a selection of relevant web links
  • Poets On Screen

Multidisciplinary Databases (Selected)

Arts and Humanities Search
"Records referencing many of the world's leading arts and humanities journals."

JSTOR
"A growing full text collection of core social science, humanities, and science journals. Some backfiles date back to the early 1800s. Fields covered include: anthropology, ecology, economics, education, finance, history, mathematics, philosophy, political science, sociology, literature,  and biology. NOTE: does not include current articles."

Project MUSE
"Full text. 380 high quality humanities and social sciences journals from over 60 scholarly publishers."

ProQuest Research Library
"From business and political science to literature and psychology, ProQuest Research Library™ provides one-stop access to a wide range of popular academic subjects. The database includes more than 4,070 titles—nearly 2,800 in full text—from 1971 forward. It features a highly-respected, diversified mix of scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, and newspapers. This combination of general reference volume and scope makes it one of the broadest, most inclusive general reference databases ProQuest has to offer."

 

Subject Guide

Zofia Lesinska's picture
Zofia Lesinska
Contact:
DML 118
213-740-7373