Skip to main content

Visions and Voices: Alvin Ailey American Dance Theater: Videos of Dance

A guide to research on dance to accompany the Visions and Voices program featuring Alvin Ailey Dance Theater.

Videos

Below are databases and websites where you can locate videos of dancers, dance company performances, and various forms of human movement. Descriptions of resources are adapted or quoted from organization websites.

  • ClassicalTV -- an online collection of performing arts videos representing classical performances of opera, ballet, concerts, jazz, drama, and musicals as well as documentaries from around the world. The site includes both live and as-live special events along with an exclusive library of full-length videos of current and recent performing arts events.
  • Contemporary Dance Video Database -- a rather disorganized compilation of contemporary dance performance videos. A search box can be used to locate the works of a particular artist, choreographer, or company. Note that viewing some videos requires downloading the Rapidshare filesharing software program.
  • Dance Channel TV -- Based in Los Angeles, this is an online media network dedicated to promoting, preserving, and supporting all forms of dance from around the world. Content also includes original video programming that covers numerous styles of dance through unique series, news content, interviews, performances, classes, and documentaries. Users can search for videos of specific artitists, choreographers, or companies or browse by category.
  • Dance in Video I and Dance in Video II -- comprehensive databases of twentieth century concert dance videos, featuring over 900 hours of influential performers and dance troupes together with dozens of documentaries, interviews, dance history, dance analysis, and dance instruction videos. The  collection includes examples of all forms of ballet, tap, jazz, contemporary, experimental, and improvisation.
  • DanceMedia -- produced by the Dance Films Association, this site provides a platform for individuals to post dance videos or viewing segments of productions, dance classes, technique training, or other aspects of dance. Videos can be selected by going to the drop-down menu under Channels or under the menu for Videos to see the newest videos posted or those related to how-to training or behind-the-scenes. Entering “Alvin Ailey” in the search box revealed 350 results, including videos of many important works.
  • Dancescape Dance Television -- a large collection of dance performance videos that can be searched by category or by using the search box. Many of the videos are clips from shows like "So You Think You Can Dance" and other commercial television programs.
  • Dance-Tech TV -- this is a free on-demand video platform focused on contemporary experimentation and innovation on the performance of movement. The site is intended to promote digital collaboration among  movement and new media artists, theorist, researchers, and technologists. Online collections of complete works of contemporary artists are presented and specially produced for the internet to document innovative experiments on performing and interdisciplinary arts.
  • Jacob's Pillow Dance Interactive -- a collection of contemporary and historical videos from the Jacob's Pillow Dance Festival, including videos of performances, documentary and features highlighting choreographers who have participated in the Festival as well as dancers, authors, filmmakers, historians, and critics.
  • Jerome Robbins Dance Division, Moving Image Archive -- from the New York Public Library, this site includes videos of performances, interviews with dancers and choreographers, and  other people in dance. Many of the videos are restricted to on-site access only but the search can be limited to open access videos.
  • OntheBoards.tv -- an on-demand website funded by the Wallace Foundation that consists of HD-quality contemporary performance videos by artists working in contemporary dance, theater and music that is available via individual or subscription purchase to stream, download, or for mobile viewing. The organization is a center for contemporary performance located in Seattle so the videos consist of international and contemporary performances produced in the Northwest region by artists who are rarely seen in the United States.
  • PBS Great Performances and PBS American Masters -- links to two of the preeminent arts and culture programs on public television. Both sites provide links to full length episodes. Each video is accompanied by a summary of the program and brief historical background.