Skip to main content

Visions and Voices: Alvin Ailey American Dance Theater: Reviews and Commentary

A guide to research on dance to accompany the Visions and Voices program featuring Alvin Ailey Dance Theater.

Dance Reviews and Commentary

The best sources of reviews of dance performances and commentary about dance companies and their work is from newspapers, magazines, and trade journals that cover the performing arts. These databases can be particularly useful in locating reviews and commentary. Descriptions of resources are adapted or quoted from vendor websites.

  • Access World News -- comprehensive news collection for exploring issues and events at the local, regional, national and international level. Source types include print and online-only newspapers, blogs, newswires, journals, broadcast transcripts and videos. Excellent resource for obtaining local reviews and reviews of performances overseas.
  • CriticalDance -- this links to the clearinghouse page of dance reviews and news items created by this international non-profit organization devoted to promoting and supporting the dance arts. Coverage is international in scope.
  • International Index to the Performing Arts -- this database facilitates easy access to reviews by clicking on the link for "advanced search" and entering the name of a performer, a performance piece, or a dance company in the search box and selecting "Dance Review" from the document type menu. Database also includes book reviews by selecting the document type, "Book Review."
  • JSTOR -- a growing full text collection of core social science, humanities, and science journals archived from three to five years back to as far back the early 1800s. To find reviews, click on the search tab at the top of the page and select the advanced search option. Enter the name of a performer, performance piece, or a dance company in the search box and selecting "Review" from the item type menu.
  • ProQuest -- multidisciplinary database that includes both newspapers, magazines, and scholarly and trade journals with reviews and commentary. Link to the "advanced search" and enter the name of a performer, performance piece, or a dance company in the search box and selecting "Review" from the document type menu.
  • ProQuest Historical Newspapers -- simultaneously searches the archive of twenty leading newspapers published in the United States. T find reviews, click on the link for "advanced search" and enter the name of a performer, a performance piece, or a dance company in the search box and selecting "Review" from the document type menu. Excellent source for historical coverage of dance.