Skip to main content

POSC 323/420: Civic Engagement and Leadership / Penny Harvest Practicum: Resources on Leadership and Entrepreneurship

A guide that provides descriptive lists of resources related to conducting research for the POSC323/POSC420 courses.

Databases

Below are databases that provide access to research in the areas of leadership and entrepreneurship.

  • ABI Inform Complete -- offers comprehensive access to business journals, magazines, trade publications, and leading newspapers. Includes most of the core journals on leadership studies.
  • Emerald -- database includes more than 400 scholarly business journals as well as book chapters. Very strong for both management and leadership research.
  • ERIC -- provides extensive access to educational research and information from journal articles, conferences, meetings, government documents, theses, dissertations, reports, audiovisual media, bibliographies, directories, books and monographs. Includes records on all aspects of leadership in education.
  • Public Administration Abstracts -- provides current information on public administration-related publications worldwide with descriptive summaries of the most relevant journal articles and books in the public administration field today. Extensive coverage of leadership within the public sector of society.
  • Urban Studies Abstracts -- provides access to critical developments on all aspects of urban studies. Topics covered include trends in urbanization, urban history, housing and real estate, land use, transportation, urban fiscal and budgetary policy, and general theory and research as well as issues related to civic leadership and engagement.

Descriptions of resources are adapted or quoted from vendor websites.

Other Academic Library Guides on Leadership

Listed below is are selective research guides on leadership created by library faculty at other institutions. Note that some databases and other resources may not be subscribed to by the USC Libraries. If you want access to something listed in these guides, contact me at labaree@usc.edu.

Other Resources on Leadership

Listed below are selected resources about leadership.

Center for Creative Leadership 

TED Talks--Leadership