The G. Edward Cassady, M.D. and Margaret Elizabeth Cassady, R.N, Lewis Carroll Collection includes over 3,000 rare books, manuscripts and objects created by or about beloved children’s literature author, mathematician and writer Charles Dodgson, better known by his pen name, Lewis Carroll. Most well known for his first children’s novels, Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland and Through the Looking-Glass and What Alice Found There, Carroll was a nineteenth century, British polymath with works spanning many disciplines, including but not limited to geometry, early photography, politics, logic and puzzles. The collection was donated by USC alum Dr. George Cassady in 2000 and named for his parents. Housed at the University of Southern California’s Doheny Memorial Library in the Special Collections department on the second floor, the Cassady collection is open to the public for research throughout the year. Requests for materials may be made through your research account.
The Cassady collection includes:
The Wonderland Award takes place each spring, inviting students from all disciplines at USC and colleges in Southern California, inviting them to create submissions inspired by the Cassady collection and the works of Lewis Carroll. Created by Linda Cassady in 2005, the Wonderland Award currently has over 400 submissions in its archive. The archive is housed in USC Libraries Special Collections, and it ranges from written works to multimedia presentations and sculptures made of nontraditional materials (i.e., the Queen of Hearts made of 744 playing cards).
For research assistance, please contact Sophie Lesinska at email@example.com or contact Special Collections at firstname.lastname@example.org