Skip to main content

COMM 322: Argumentation and Advocacy : General Statistics

Basic argumentation theory including analysis. Research and evidence, case construction, refutation; discursive and visual argument; diverse fields of advocacy including law, politics, organizations, interpersonal relations.

Sources: United States

Selected Websites

CGS - PolicyArchive: PolicyArchive is an innovative, new digital archive of global, non-partisan public policy research.It makes use of the power, efficiency, and economy of modern Internet technology to collect and disseminate summaries and full texts, videos, reports, briefs, and multimedia material of think tank, university, government, and foundation-funded policy research.

 

ProCon.org - Pros and Cons of Controversial Issues : ProCon.org is a 501(c)(3) nonprofit public charity that has no government affiliations of any kind. Our purpose is to provide resources for critical thinking and to educate without bias. We do not express opinions on our research projects ("issue websites").

 

Pew Research Center: The Pew Research Center is a nonpartisan fact tank that provides information on the issues, attitudes and trends shaping America and the world. The center conducts public opinion polling, demographic studies, media content analysis and other empirical social science research. It does not take positions on policy issues.

 

The Urban Institute | Research of Record: The Urban Institute gathers data, conducts research, evaluates programs, offers technical assistance overseas, and educates Americans on social and economic issues — to foster sound public policy and effective government.

 

Brookings Institution:  The Brookings Institution is a nonprofit public policy organization based in Washington, DC. Our mission is to conduct high-quality, independent research and, based on that research, to provide innovative, practical recommendations that advance three broad goals:

  • Strengthen American democracy;
  • Foster the economic and social welfare, security and opportunity of all Americans; and
  • Secure a more open, safe, prosperous and cooperative international system.

 

USA.gov: As the U.S. government's official web portal, USA.gov makes it easy for the public to get U.S. government information and services on the web.

US Government Printing Office - FDsys - Home: The U.S Government Printing Office (GPO) provides publishing and dissemination services for the official and authentic government publications to Congress, Federal agencies, Federal depository libraries, and the American public.

 

Debatabase: a world of great debates | idebate.org - IDEA:IDEA works with young people from all over the world in communities with little or no history of debate or informed public discussion. We teach critical thinking, advocacy, conflict resolution, public speaking skills and the desire and capacity to look respectfully and rationally at other people’s points of view.

 

  General Statistics Sources

ProQuest Statistical Insight abstracts include a detailed description of a publication's statistical contents and primary bibliographic information like title, date, collation, agency report number (if any), and periodicity.

Statistical Abstract of the United States: The Statistical Abstract of the United States is an annual summary publication of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States. 

 
World Factbook: World Factbook provides information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 266 world entities. The Reference tab includes: maps of the major world regions, as well as Flags of the World, a Physical Map of the World, a Political Map of the World, and a Standard Time Zones of the World map.

Census:The Census Bureau serves as the leading source of quality data about the nation's people and economy.
 
 Voting and Registration, U.S. Census Bureau: Voting and Registration. Information on reported voting and registration by various demographic and socioeconomic characteristics is collected for the nation in November of Congressional and Presidential election years in the Current Population Survey (CPS). The CPS is a monthly survey of about 50,000 households conducted by the Bureau of the Census for the Bureau of Labor Statistics
 
Social Science Statistics: Research Guide created by Katharin Peter, Data Librarian.

 

  Demographic Statistics

American Factfinder - A product of the US Census, American Factfinder provides Census data in user friendly format.

Consumer Expenditure Survey - The Bureau of Labor Statistics' Consumer Expenditure Survey records how Americans spend their money by tracking expenditures on food, housing, transportation, education, pensions, healthcare, etc.