Research Guides: CMGT 556: Global Marketing Communication: Country Information

International Business

To find information on specific countries check the International Business Research Guide for countries such as, South Korea, China, Italy and more...

Country Information

Africa South of the Sahara
A searchable, comprehensive directory of web resources about countries south of the Sahara. Contents are arranged by country and topic as well.
BBC News Country Profiles
Supplies information on the history, economy, and politics of countries and territories as well as maps, facts, and current leaders. Each profile includes links to news items on that country that have appeared on the BBC network.
World Factbook
provides information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 266 world entities.

Nexis Uni (formerly LEXIS/NEXIS Academic) This link opens in a new window
You can search for Country information. In the Guided Search section, What are you interested in-- select Country Info, you can then choose your country.
Country Studies This link opens in a new window
presents a description and analysis of the historical setting and the social, economic, political, and national security systems and institutions of countries throughout the world. The series examines the inter-relationships of those systems and the ways they are shaped by cultural factors.
The series examines the interrelationships of those systems and the ways they are shaped by cultural factors. Studies included here were published between 1988 and 1998. Information on some countries may no longer be up to date. See the "Research Completed" date at the beginning of each study or the "Data as of" date at the end of each section of text. Older studies, including some on countries that no longer exist in the same form, such as East Germany and the Soviet Union, may be retained because they continue to offer historical information of value to researchers.

EurasiaNet
provides information and analysis about political, economic, environmental and social developments in the countries of Central Asia and the Caucasus, as well as in Russia, the Middle East, and Southwest Asia. The web site also offers additional features, including newsmaker interviews and book reviews.
Foreign Information by Country
- compiled by the University of Colorado Libraries, this site provides links to government agencies, background information, diplomatic relations, and other resources by topic for all of the countries of the world.
Library of Congress Country Studies Area Handbooks
Provides extensive information on over 91 countries, describing and analyzing political, economic, social, and national security systems and institutions, and examining the interrelationships of those systems and the ways they are shaped by cultural factors. and includes photographs, maps, and charts.

NationMaster This link opens in a new window
NationMaster is a freely available website compiling data from such sources as the CIA World Factbook, UN, and OECD. Allows users to quickly generate maps and graphs.
Global Road Warrior This link opens in a new window
Global Road Warrior, which sub-titles itself as 'the ultimate guide to the world' or 'the ultimate business travel guide" provides a broad range of practical information, available in twenty broad subject categories, for over 175 countries. Includes numerous maps and images.

International Web resources

globalEDGE
Created by the International Business Center and the Eli Broad College of Business at Michigan State University (IBC), globalEDGE™ is a knowledge web-portal that connects international business professionals worldwide to a wealth of information, insights, and learning resources on global business activities. Partially funded by a U.S. Department of Education Title VI B grant (CIBE program), globalEDGE™ is your source for global business knowledge. To learn more about the history and content of globalEDGE, please visit our history page
Export.gov
Data collected by the U.S. Commercial Service providing trade counseling, market intelligence, trade promotion opportunities and trade advocacy.
The Federation of International Trade Associations
FITA provides resources, benefits and services to the international trade community and useful tools to help you do business globally.
Source: fita.org
International Monetary Fund (IMF)
The IMF works to foster global growth and economic stability. It provides policy advice and financing to members in economic difficulties and also works with developing nations to help them achieve macroeconomic stability and reduce poverty.
Source: imf.org
PEW Global Attitudes Project
"Interactive database allows users to explore public opinion trends in 55 countries on topics ranging from attitudes toward the U.S. to people's assessments of their own lives to views about globalization, democratization, extremism and other important issues."
globalEDGE™
Created by the International Business Center at Michigan State University (IBC), globalEDGE™ is a knowledge web-portal that connects international business professionals worldwide to a wealth of information, insights, and learning resources on global business activities. globalEDGE™ is your source for global business knowledge. To learn more about the history and content of globalEDGE, please visit our history page.
Source: http://globaledge.msu.edu/site/about
Roper Center I-Poll
The Roper Center maintains an archive of public opinion survey data--including a limited collection of non-U.S. data (specifically, Great Britain, France, Canada, Brazil, Germany, Mexico, Italy, Japan, Venezuela, Argentina). Allows users to search survey questions or download data directly. Users will need to enter their USC email address to access data.
Human Development Reports -
Site contains country-level data available for review and download from the United Nation's annual Human Development Report.
World Economic Forum Global Risk Reports
A comprehensive series of reports which examine in detail the broad range of global issues related to economic imbalances and social inequality risk.
Worldwide Governments on the WWW
One of the most extensive lists of international, national, regional, and local governmental and government-related Web servers. It covers governmental institutions on the Web, including parliaments, ministries, offices, law courts, embassies, city councils, public broadcasting corporations, central banks, multinational organizations, and political parties. Arranged in a hierarchical index organized by continent, country, and smaller divisions with thematic groupings such as heads of states, parliaments, political parties, elections, and currency.