Research Guides: CMGT 540: Uses of Communication Research: Financial Resources

Financial Databases at USC

This is a list of the key business databases at USC. Another list with the WRDS datasets broken out can be found here.

EStatement Studies This link opens in a new window
eStatement Studies is the online version of the Annual Statement Studies produced by the Risk Management Association (RMA).
It provides composite performance metrics derived directly from the financial statements of financial institutions' borrowers and prospects. It includes Financial Ratios Benchmarks on over 760 industries, Industry Default Probabilities and Cash Flow Measures.
Mergent Online This link opens in a new window
Provides data about companies, including financials, exeutives, reports, filings, news, and comparisons with competitors. Build your own report to find exactly the data you need.
Orbis This link opens in a new window
US and international company information from Bureau van Dijk including Datamonitor market research and company reports (same content as Mint Global with a different interface).
OSIRIS This link opens in a new window
US and international public company information from Bureau van Dijk.

SEC EDGAR This link opens in a new window
Company filings with US Securities and Exchange Commission.
Wharton Research Data Services (WRDS) This link opens in a new window
Collection of databases designed for quantitative analysis of financial data: Compustat Global & EMDB; Fama French Momentum and Liquidity; Audit Analytics; EVENTUS; Blockholders; CUSIP Master File; Federal Reserve Bank Reports; Bureau van Dijk; DMEF - Direct Marketing Educational Foundation; FDIC; Bank Regulatory; CBOE Indexes; Execcomp; CRSP - Center for Research in Security Prices; Compustat North America; Dow Jones; Mutual Funds Links (MFLINKS); Thomson Reuters; TRACE; NYSE TAQ; PHLX; SEC Disclosure of Order Execution; I/B/E/S International; IRI - Information Resources Inc.; Penn World Tables.
Zephyr This link opens in a new window
International merger and acquisition (M&A), initial public offering (IPO) and venture capital (VC) data with links to company information. Provided by Bureau van Dijk.

Capital IQ This link opens in a new window
The research division of S&P Global, one of the world's largest providers of ratings, data, research, and the S&P Dow Jones Indices. Cap IQ provides detailed research and analysis of the stock market to a variety of investing stakeholders. Register with your USC email under 'New User' at upper right. To download the Excel plug-in, go to My Capital IQ/Downloads. Login to the USC VPN before accessing.

Historical stock data and more:

Mergent Online This link opens in a new window
Provides data about companies, including financials, exeutives, reports, filings, news, and comparisons with competitors. Build your own report to find exactly the data you need.
Wharton Research Data Services (WRDS) This link opens in a new window
Collection of databases designed for quantitative analysis of financial data: Compustat Global & EMDB; Fama French Momentum and Liquidity; Audit Analytics; EVENTUS; Blockholders; CUSIP Master File; Federal Reserve Bank Reports; Bureau van Dijk; DMEF - Direct Marketing Educational Foundation; FDIC; Bank Regulatory; CBOE Indexes; Execcomp; CRSP - Center for Research in Security Prices; Compustat North America; Dow Jones; Mutual Funds Links (MFLINKS); Thomson Reuters; TRACE; NYSE TAQ; PHLX; SEC Disclosure of Order Execution; I/B/E/S International; IRI - Information Resources Inc.; Penn World Tables.
Factiva This link opens in a new window
Use to find up-to-date information about companies and industries. Includes articles from newspapers and trade magazines, press releases, blogs, and business forecasters.

These resources provide a range of financial ratios for companies and industries:

Mergent Online This link opens in a new window
Provides data about companies, including financials, exeutives, reports, filings, news, and comparisons with competitors. Build your own report to find exactly the data you need.
OSIRIS This link opens in a new window
US and international public company information from Bureau van Dijk.
EStatement Studies This link opens in a new window
eStatement Studies is the online version of the Annual Statement Studies produced by the Risk Management Association (RMA).
It provides composite performance metrics derived directly from the financial statements of financial institutions' borrowers and prospects. It includes Financial Ratios Benchmarks on over 760 industries, Industry Default Probabilities and Cash Flow Measures.
Factiva This link opens in a new window
Use to find up-to-date information about companies and industries. Includes articles from newspapers and trade magazines, press releases, blogs, and business forecasters.
IBISWorld This link opens in a new window
Industry Market Research reports and Industry Risk Ratings. Focuses on United States, but has some data on global markets.