Skip to main content

Global Communication: Country Information

Internet Country Information

Directories and Scholarly Web Sites

  • Africa South of the Sahara--a searchable, comprehensive directory of web resources about countries south of the Sahara. Contents are arranged by country and topic as well.
  • Country Studies/Area Handbook Series -- presents a description and analysis of the historical setting and the social, economic, political, and national security systems and institutions of countries throughout the world. The series examines the inter-relationships of those systems and the ways they are shaped by cultural factors.
  • EurasiaNet -- provides information and analysis about political, economic, environmental and social developments in the countries of Central Asia and the Caucasus, as well as in Russia, the Middle East, and Southwest Asia. The web site also offers additional features, including newsmaker interviews and book reviews.
  • FAO Country Profile -- Food and Agriculture Organizations of the United Nations country profiles 
  • Foreign Information by Country -- compiled by the University of Colorado Libraries, this site provides links to government agencies, background information, diplomatic relations, and other resources by topic for all of the countries of the world.
  • Global Edge Country Profiles -- source for statistical data for nearly every country around the world. In addition to statistics, the database includes summary information on historical, economic, and political conditions and risk assessment.
  • Human Development Reports -- site contains country-level data available for review and download from the United Nation's  annual Human Development Report.
  • Library of Congress Country Studies Area Handbooks -- provides extensive information on over 91 countries, describing and analyzing political, economic, social, and national security systems and institutions, and examining the interrelationships of those systems and the ways they are shaped by cultural factors. and includes photographs, maps, and charts.
  • NationMaster-- A complication of data from such sources as the CIA World Factbook, United Nations, World Health Organization, World Bank, World Resources Institute, UNESCO, UNICEF and OECD.
  • UNData--The information thus collected constitutes a considerable information asset of the organization. However, these statistical data are often stored in proprietary databases, each with unique dissemination and access policies. Useful features like Country Profiles, Advanced Search and Glossaries are also provided to aid research.
  • World Economic Forum Global Risk Reports -- a comprehensive series of reports which examine in detail the broad range of global issues related to economic imbalances and social inequality risk.
  • Worldwide Governments on the WWW -- one of the most extensive lists of international, national, regional, and local governmental and government-related Web servers. It covers governmental institutions on the Web, including parliaments, ministries, offices, law courts, embassies, city councils, public broadcasting corporations, central banks, multinational organizations, and political parties. Arranged in a hierarchical index organized by continent, country, and smaller divisions with thematic groupings such as heads of states, parliaments, political parties, elections, and currency.

Descriptions of resources are adapted or quoted from vendor websites.

USC Libraries Databases for Country Information