Skip to main content

Landscape Architecture: Finding Books and Journal Articles

This is a guide to basic sources in researching landscape architecture, available in the USC Libraries.

Description

  • Remote log-in is available for USC students, faculty, and staff only. Go tohttp://libproxy.usc.edu to log in.
  • To find books and location of journals (but not articles): use HOMER, the USC Libraries catalog.
  • To find articles in architecture: use the Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals.
  • To find articles in engineering and building structures: use Engineering Village.
  • To find dissertations and theses, use Proquest and select the "Dissertations and Theses" from the drop-down menu.
  • To find historic articles about Los Angeles homes and urban development, use the Historic Los Angeles Times, available through Proquest.
  • Use Refworks and the Chicago Manual of Style for formatting citations and bibliographies.

Description

Remote log-in to the resources listed below is available for USC students, faculty, and staff only. Go to http://libproxy.usc.edu to log in.

Finding books and articles:

  • To find books on lanscape architecture and other fields at the USC Libraries use HOMER, the USC Libraries catalog.  HOMER also will tell you which journals are available in the USC Libraries, and in which format (paper or electronic or both).
  • To find articles use the Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals.
  • Art and Architecture Archive provides full text articles from many periodicals. However, unlike the Avery Index (listed above) it does not include the most recent article citations.
  • To find dissertations and theses, use Proquest's Dissertations and Theses database.
  • To find historic articles about Los Angeles homes and urban development, use the Historic Los Angeles Times and the Historic Los Angeles Sentinel, both available through Proquest.
  • JSTOR contains full text articles from many academic journals, including some architecture and urban-planning titles.

Locating maps:

Citation styles for bibliographies: