Below are links to databases and electronic resources that support access to government information.
- CQ Researcher--provides full text access to the CQ Weekly, known as the pre-eminent resource for Congress-watchers who need nonpartisan information on Capitol Hill, and the CQ Researcher, which provides analysis of current public policy topics.CQ Electronic Library
- Google Scholar -- provides a simple way to search across many disciplines and sources, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, and abstracts and articles. Links to full-text journal articles owned by USC can be found using the "Find It at USC" link next to selected records. To set up Google Scholar so that you have access to USC Libraries E-journals and Databases, go here
- GPO Catalog -- indexes all types of U.S. government documents, including Congressional reports, hearings, debates, and records; judiciary materials; and documents issued by executive departments. Coverage from 1976 to the present.
- LEXIS/NEXIS Academic -- a database of full text online news, business, financial, legal, medical, biographical, government and domestic and international newspaper resources. Updated daily.
-
Proquest Congressional-- indexes and abstracts a broad spectrum of Congressional publications, including hearings (testimony), committee prints, reports, documents, and full text of bills and public laws.
- LEXIS/NEXIS State Capital Universe -- provides comprehensive access to state bills and laws, constitutions, proposed and enacted, regulations, newspapers of record articles about legislative issues affecting the states.
- National Journal Group's Policy Central -- provides full text access to news and information about Congress, including bills status reports, an archive of campaign ads, daily analysis and commentary on Congress, campaigns, and the media, and a fully searchable database of the latest national opinion polls on campaigns, national figures, and key issues.
NOTE TO OFF-CAMPUS USERS: If you are asked for a username and password when accessing our databases, enter the same username and password as your USC email address and this should authenticate your access to the database and its full-text contents.