Skip to main content

Archaeology*: General Archaeology Web Sites

This guide highlights resources for researching archaeology.

General Art and Archaeology Sites

Archaeological Commentary and Reports: Offered by The Bible and Interpretation site.
Archaeological interpretation and excavations relevant to the study of the Bible for the public and biblical scholars

Archaeological Excavations Relating to Jewish History (Hebrew University of Jerusalem)
Information about excavations in different sites including Megiddo

Archimedia I: Architecture in the Ancient Near East (University of Haifa)
Displays numerous views, plans and sections, and axonometric and computerized reconstructions of the pyramids, a Mycenean palace, and ziggurats.

Archimedia II: Architecture in Ancient Greece (University of Haifa)
Focuses on the temple, the agora and the private house.

Archnet (Archaeological Research Institute, Arizona State University)
Extensive collection of links to wide range of websites, syllabi, data archives, bibliographies, etc. covering archaeology worldwide.

Digital Atlas of the Holy Land (Archaeological Research Institute, Arizona State University)
An international project that combines Geographic Information Systems (GIS) with the archaeology of the Holy Land (modern Israel, Palestine, Jordan, southern Lebanon, Syria and the Sinai Peninsula).

ETANA (Electronic Tools and Ancient Near East Archives)
An electronic publishing project designed to enhance the study of the history and culture of the ancient Near East. Contains digitized core texts, an archival repository for archaeological data and site reports, English translations of Akkadian texts.  Includes Abzu, a guide to networked open access data relevant to the study and public presentation of the Ancient Near East and the Ancient Mediterranean world

Giza Plateau Mapping Project (Oriental Institute, University of Chicago)
A research site on the geology and topography of the Giza plateau, the construction and function of the Sphinx, the Great Pyramids, the associated tombs and temples, and the Old Kingdom town in the vicinity.

Israel Antiquities Authority, Jerusalem
Includes detailed information on archaeology in Israel, online access to the journal 'Atiquot,  and special topics such as face care and makeup in the ancient world, board games in ancient Israel, etc.  Links to the IAA Library.

Nestor (University of Cincinnati)
An international bibliography of Aegean studies, Homeric society, Indo-European linguistics, and related fields.

West Bank and East Jerusalem Searchable Map (USC Libraries)
Maps and lists of the archaeology sites that have been surveyed or excavated since Israel occupied the West Bank and East Jerusalem in 1967.  Includes a bibliography and the Sourcebook for the Project.
West Bank and East Jerusalem Archaeological Database Project (Tel Aviv University)
This resource provides a database of about 6000 archaeological sites in the West Bank and East Jerusalem. The sites are being plotted onto GIS maps so that researchers can more fully utilize the data. It forms part of an Israeli-Palestinian dialog initiative concerning the standing of archaeological sites and materials in the event of final status negotiation.
Cosponsored by USC's Center for Religion and Civic Culture.

Additional links to ancient art and architecture can be found at the LibGuide for Ancient Art and Archaeology.



Subject Guide

John Juricek's picture
John Juricek
Contact:
Grand Library CAL 212
3434 South Grand Avenue
Los Angeles, CA 90089
(213) 740-2931
juricek@usc.edu
Website / Blog Page