Skip to main content

Archaeology*: Reference Sources

This guide highlights resources for researching archaeology.

sources

Archaeological method and theory: an encyclopedia, edited by, Linda Ellis. New York: Garland Pub., 2000. (F) CC75.A654 2000

 

Encyclopedia of archaeology: history and discoveries, edited by Tim Murray.  Santa Barbara, Calif.: ABC-CLIO, c2001.  (SA) CC100.E54 2001

 

Encyclopedia of prehistory, edited by Peter N. Peregrine and Melvin Ember.  New York: Kluwer Academic/Plenum, c2001-c2002. (DR) GN710.E53 2000

 

Companion encyclopedia of archaeology, edited by Graeme Barker and Annie Grant. London; New York: Routledge, 1999.  (SA) CC70.C59 1999

The new Penguin dictionary of archaeology, edited by Paul Bahn. Abridged edition.  London, New York: Penguin, 2004. (F) CC70. P46 2004 

 

Oxford Companion to archaeology  Print edition:  Doheny Stacks, Call No. CC70.O96 1996

Online Reference Sources

Beazley Archive, The art of ancient Greece and Rome, and its collection and reception since antiquity

Consists of several databases comprising nearly 70,000 records and 30,000 images of classical pottery, gems, and sculpture. The images include many of Beazley’s original drawings. Also contains bibliographies in classical studies, as well as a dictionary and time lines. The online database of the Corpus Vasorum Antiquorum is also accessible here.

Neue Pauly: Enzyklopädie der Antike
Online version of the complete print edition
Print:  Reference/Classics, DE5.N48 1996 vol.1-16

New Pauly: Encyclopaedia of the Ancient World
English translation of Der Neue Pauly. Still in progress. References and bibliographies updated from original German edition.
Contents:  Antiquity (2000 BC to early Medieval Europe)
Print:  Reference/Classics, DE5.N4813 2002 vol.1-13 
Classical Tradition
Print:  Reference/Classics, DE5.N3513 2006 vol.1-3

Oxford Art Online (aka Grove Art Online)
This online version of the 1996 Dictionary of Art contains the full text (34 vols.) with links to online images, plus additional articles, revisions, and updates. Illustrations are very likely to differ from the print edition. Articles include brief bibliographies. Site includes the Oxford Companion to Western Art, the Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, and the Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms.
Print ed. at AFA Reference
, N31.D5 1996.

Oxford Reference Online
Large collection of online dictionaries and encyclopedias in art and architecture, history, and mythology, as well as  
Classics Resources
Full-text editions of the Oxford Companion to Classical Civilization, Oxford Classical Dictionary, Concise Oxford Companion to Classical Literature, Oxford Dictionary of the Classical World, Who’s Who in the Classical World,  and the Pocket Oxford Latin Dictionary.

Subject Guide

John Juricek's picture
John Juricek
Contact:
Grand Library CAL 212
3434 South Grand Avenue
Los Angeles, CA 90089
(213) 740-2931
juricek@usc.edu
Website