Research Guides: JOUR 201: Culture of Journalism: Past, Present and Future: People

People

Whether you are research Upton Sinclair, Joseph Pulitzer, Margaret Bourke-White, Nellie Bly or another person fom the time period, there are several ways to locate information about your individual.

You can search for teh person, for example looking for resources written about Nellie Bly, you will use " Nellie Bly". If you want to research issues related to particular people you will identify teh issue and the person. For example, war and journalism it is best to identity a time frame. War and journalism 1899-1910.

Ressource

American National Biography Online This link opens in a new window
The landmark American National Biography offers portraits of more than 17,400 men and women -- from all eras and walks of life -- whose lives have shaped the nation.
More than a decade in preparation, the American National Biography is the first biographical resource of this scope to be published in more than sixty years.
Everyday Life and Women in America Online, c.1820-1920 This link opens in a new window
Social and cultural forces that shaped the everyday lives of men and women in America from 1800 to 1920,
America: History & Life with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Covers the history and culture of the U.S. and Canada, from the 15th century to the present.
American History, 1493-1945 This link opens in a new window
Includes correspondence, diaries, government documents, business records, books, pamphlets, newspapers, broadsides, photographs.
Contains over 50,000 digitized primary sources from the Gilder Lehrman Collection, including correspondence, diaries, government documents, business records, books, pamphlets, newspapers, broadsides, photographs, artwork and maps. It is divided into two modules: Module 1 Settlement, Commerce, Revolution and Reform: 1493-1859 and Module 2 Civil War, Reconstruction and the Modern Era: 1860-1945. This resource is provided by Adam Matthew.
Everyday Life and Women in America Online, c.1820-1920 This link opens in a new window
This collection documents the social and cultural forces that shaped the everyday lives of men and women in America from 1800 to 1920, addressing 19th and early 20th century political, social and gender issues, religion, race, education, employment, marriage, sexuality, home life, health and popular pastimes. This resource is provided by Adam Matthew.

More resources

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Some back-files date back to the early 1800s
Images of America: A History of American Life in Images and Texts This link opens in a new window
Images from Arcadia Publishing's award-winning series of local history books.
At completion, it will include over 1 million historical images and texts, celebrating the places and faces that give America its spirit and life. All of the images and texts have been indexed to provide an unprecedented level of access into the contents, enabling users to explore the depth of a town's history or to compare the histories of various towns, cultures, ethnic groups, architectural features, and more.
U.S. History In Context This link opens in a new window
Search U.S. history, people and events.
The material also includes citations from over 180 additional history journals from the Institute for Scientific Information's Arts and Humanities Citation Index, as well as the entire "American Journey Online" series.
America's Historical Newspapers, 1690-1998 This link opens in a new window
Part of Readex's Archive of Americana. Provides access to over 3,200 newspapers.
Collections include: Early American Newspapers Series 1-13 (1690-1922),; African American Newspapers, Series 1 & 2 1827-1998; and Hispanic American Newspapers, 1808-1980.
Women and Social Movements Library This link opens in a new window
Organized around the history of women in social movements between 1600 and the present,