The early history of African American poetry, from the first recorded poem by an African American (Lucy Terry Prince's 'Bars Fight', c.1746) to the major poets of the nineteenth century, including Paul Laurence Dunbar and Frances Ellen Watkins Harper.
Facsimile page images and keyword-searchable full text for more than four hundred works of American prose fiction published before 1850, including key titles such as James Fenimore Cooper's The Last of the Mohicans, Edgar Allan Poe's Tales of the Grotesque and Arabesque and Nathaniel Hawthorne's The Scarlet Letter.
Offers the full text of 875 first editions of American novels and short stories by such authors as Louisa May Alcott, Herman Melville, Harriet Beecher Stowe and Mark Twain, as well as a host of minor writers of the period.
A database of modern and contemporary African American poetry, featuring almost 9,000 poems by 62 of the most important African American poets of the last century, including Langston Hughes, Jean Toomer, Imamu Amiri Baraka, Audre Lorde and Rita Dove.
This is a collection of 19th century American fiction, as listed in Lyle Wright's bibliography American Fiction, 1851-1875. There are currently 2,887 volumes included (1,763 unedited, 1,124 fully edited and encoded) by 1,456 authors.
This digital collection is an unparalleled resource for the study of American social, cultural, and popular history, providing immediate access to rare primary source material, including thousands of fully searchable images (alongside transcriptions) of monographs, pamphlets, periodicals and broadsides.
This collection provides access to several key databases at once, including America's Historical Imprints (American Broadsides and Ephemera, Series 1; Early American Imprints, Series I: Evans, 1639-1800; Early American Imprints, Series II: Shaw-Shoemaker, 1801-1819); America's Historical Newspapers; American State Papers, 1789-1838; and U.S. Congressional Serial Set.
Free public access to detailed descriptions of primary source collections (artwork, manuscripts, papers, historic photographs, and so on) maintained by more than 200 libraries, special collections, archives, historical societies, and museums throughout California.
Contains a collection of digitized documents, photographs, recorded sound, moving pictures and text from the Library of Congress Americana collections. There are over 70 collections included in the project. You can search a particular topic or browse through the collections.
Calisphere is the University of California's free public gateway to a world of primary sources. More than 150,000 digitized items, including photographs, documents, newspaper pages, political cartoons, works of art, diaries, transcribed oral histories, advertising, and other unique cultural artifacts, reveal the diverse history and culture of California and its role in national and world history.
Calisphere's content has been selected from the libraries and museums of the UC campuses, and from a variety of cultural heritage organizations across California. Calisphere is also a single point of access to over 300 UC web sites covering subjects ranging from history, math, literature, and anthropology to film, contemporary art, marine sciences, medical and health issues, and much more.
Stanford's Dime Novel and Story Paper Collection consists of over 8,000 individual items, and includes long runs of the major dime novel series Frank Leslie's Boys of America, Happy Days, Beadle's New York Dime Library, and others.
LCO is comprised of 10 collections of English-language scholarly and popular commentary on literary works in most languages ranging from the classical to Shakespeare to contemporary publications. Covers not only novels but also poetry, short stories, and drama. Entries are in-depth and include bibliographies. Search by key words, author, title, or browse by works, authors, and topics.
Brings together a wide range of disciplines related to the history and cultures of the United States, from pre-colonial days to the present. With over 660 online, searchable articles and biographies and accompanying bibliographies, the Encyclopedia of American Studies supports research and study in a wide range of courses and assignments at all levels.
With over 660 online, searchable articles and biographies and accompanying bibliographies, the Encyclopedia of American Studies supports research and study in a wide range of courses and assignments at all levels.