Events and News
- Ruben Salazar Remembered--on Democracy Now on PBSReal video stream of the program that aired on 8/31/2010, the 40th anniversary of journalist Ruben Salazar's death and of the L.A. Chicano Moratorium.
- Voices for Justice: 200 Years of Latino Newspapers in the United StatesExhibit, film screening, discussion organized by USC Prof. Felix Gutierrez.
- Visions and VoicesThe USC Arts and Humanities Initiative
Search Tips
Tip 1. Examples of subjects and key words to use when searching databases and online library catalogs recommended in this LibGuide:
- Ethnic Press--United States,
- Hispanic American newspapers,
- Hispanic American journalists,
- Newspapers--United States,
- Journalism--Mexican-American border region,
- Mexican American and mass media
Tip 2. When searching in special subject databases such as the Chicano Database and the Hispanic American Periodicals Index (HAPI Online), use only words in English or Spanish such as
- press or
- prensa or
- newspapers or
- periodicos
Introduction
Welcome to the guide to Latino and Spanish language newspapers published in the United States!
This guide is designed to help you learn more about the history and role of the Latino and Spanish-language press in the daily life and political struggles of communities in Los Angeles and throughout the United States.
It provide assistance in locating books, articles, Web, microform and printed primary sources.
The resources in this guide cover a wealth of information about the often "forgotten pages" of U.S. Latino and Spanish-language newspapers from 1808 to the present.
For questions or assistance contact brobinso@usc.edu
Selected Online Newspapers and Databases
See also the subsection in this guide under the tab above: "Find Web Resources: Find Newspapers on the Web."
- El Clamor Publico, 1855-1859The first Spanish language weekly newspaper in Los Angeles, California, after the Treaty of Guadalupe Hidalgo was signed. Search or browse for it in USC's Digital Library. Here is the direct link.
- Hispanic American Newspapers, 1808-1980From Readex Newsbank, this collection contains many Fulltext Spanish language newspapers from 22 states in the United States. Searchable by dates and "eras", article types, languages, place of publication, and newspaper title.
- Ethnic NewsWatchAn interdisciplinary, bilingual (English and Spanish) and comprehensive full text database of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press. Designed to provide the "other side of the story," ENW titles offer additional viewpoints from those proffered by the mainstream press.
- Ethnic NewsWatch: HistoryProvides the historical foreground to the ethnic, minority, and native press content in Ethnic NewsWatch, with over 300,000 full-text articles dating from 1959-1989. Pivotal events in these decades are covered - the civil rights struggle, Vietnam War protests, dramatic changes in immigration law and more.
- California Newspaper ProjectA bibliographic database of nearly 9,000 California newspapers held in California libraries, including many related to Chicano and Latino studies. Indicates location.
- JSTORSearch for articles about the Spanish language press in the United States. Use terms in English or Spanish.
US Latino Newspapers: Microfilm and Hardcopy
Most of these primary resources, with two exceptions, are located in the Boeckmann Center for Iberian and Latin American Studies. To view them inquire at the Special Collections Reference Desk, on the second floor of Doheny Library, or send email to brobinso@usc.edu make an appointment with the Librarian.
- Chicano Studies Library Serial Collection [microfilm]A large collection of mainly Chicano journals, newspapers, newsletters, etc from the 1970s to present. The complete collection of the microfilm is available in the Boeckmann Center for Iberian and Latin American Studies, Special Collections Dept.
- De Norte a Sur (New York) [microfilm]Uruguayan and Argentine immigrant weekly. Distributed on the West Coast. Some hardcopy issues available.
- La Opinion (Los Angeles) [microfilm]Holdings from 1926 to 1993. Page from Grand Library.
See also the article by Francine Medeiros, "La Opinion, a Mexican exile newspaper: a content analysis of its first years, 1926-1929" In the journal Aztlan, v.11, no. 1 (Spring, 1980), pgs. 65-87. Also available online at USC. - La Raza (Los Angeles) [microfilm]Mexican American/Chicano newspaper. Page from Grand Library.
- 20 de Mayo (Los Angeles) [microfilm]Cuban exile weekly. Some hardcopy issues available also.
- Monimbo (Los Angeles)Nicaraguan immigrant weekly. Some hardcopy issues available.
- La Voz Libre (Los Angeles) [microfilm]Cuban exile weekly. Some hardcopy issues available also.
- Los Tiempos (Washington DC, Virginia, Maryland)One issue available with headline "Obama proclama el mes de la Herencia Hispana" Ano 8, no. 343, Sept 18-24, 2009.
- El Tiempo Latino (Washington DC)Publication of the Washington Post. One issue available, ano 18, no. 38, Sept 18, 2009.
Subject Guide
room 224
cetucker@usc.edu