Skip to main content

Middle East Language Feature Films in Leavey Library (DVDs): Books About Middle East Cinema

Books About Middle East Cinema (Selected Titles)

The Cinema of North Africa and the Middle East
"Donmez-Colin has assembled essays that provide an introduction to the cinema of Turkey, the Maghreb (Algeria, Tunisia, Morocco), Israel, Egypt, Syria, Iran, Iraq, Lebanon, and Palestine. Most films discussed were produced between the late 1980s and 2002, but a few essays take up older films to provide historical perspective in countries with longer cinema traditions (e.g., Egypt.) Released in the 24 Frames series, the volume is particularly valuable for the way it provides the Western reader--who is likely to have little or no exposure to the actual cinema or history of these regions--glimpses into the society and culture of the countries treated in the films. The essays interpret filmic treatment of cultural myths and taboos, the changing role of women, and the deconstruction of certain religious and/or revolutionary ideals and societal norms. Some essays touch on the business of film--for example, growth and acceptance of the entertainment film industry in Middle Eastern countries. This book complements such focused treatments as Hamid Reza Sadr's Iranian Cinema: A Political History (2006), which provides a comprehensive examination of the effects of government policy and foreign influence on film as business, art, and national representation." L. D. Talit Central Connecticut State University

Companion Encyclopedia of Middle Eastern and North African Film
"Utilizing a somewhat arbitrary definition of exactly what countries constitute North Africa and the Middle East (for example, a number of Central Asian countries are included, but Sudan and Somalia are not), this encyclopedia offers entries explaining the history of cinema in specific countries, presents brief biographies of important directors and actors, and provides filmographies that include synopses and key personnel. The material is arranged by region and covers mostly culturally Islamic countries (although Israeli film is given significant treatment)." - Book News

Israeli Film: A Reference Guide
"Kronish and Safirman's volume in Greenwood's Reference Guides to the World's Cinema is an evaluative guide to 225 significant dramatic and documentary films produced in Israel, 1932-2002. Choice of films is based on cinematic quality, commercial success, critical reception, awards, and portrayal of social issues or historical trends. The authors give special attention to landmark films that treat difficult subjects (e.g., relations between Arabs and Jews) or that achieved international recognition. The introductory section, 'A National Cinema in the Making,' supplies an outstanding overview of the development of Israeli film from crude beginnings to a sophisticated art form. While the authors note a number of problems, political and otherwise, on the whole they are optimistic about the future of cinema in this young nation. The main section lists film titles alphabetically, giving year of release, credits, awards, synopsis, major themes, genres (e.g., political thriller, ethnic comedy), and cinematic highlights. A 60-page biographical section includes profiles of cinematographers, directors, and actors. Indexes include international awards, film titles, and personalities. An outstanding work, readable and enjoyable, by recognized authors. "  -L. E. Jorbin Cleveland State University

The New Iranian Cinema: Politics, Representation and Identity
"Iranian cinema is today widely recognized not merely as a distinctive national cinema, but as one of the most innovative in the world. This international stature both fascinates Western observers and appears paradoxical in line with perceptions of Iran as anti-modern. The largely Iranian contributors to this book look in depth at how Iranian cinema became a true ‘world cinema’. From a range of perspectives, they explore cinema’s development in post Revolution Iran and its place in Iranian culture."