Contemporary China is the first and also the most authoritative magnum opus that details the history of the People's Republic of China since 1949.
The series consists of 152 titles in 210 volumes, with a total word count of 100 million Chinese characters and 30,000 pieces of illustrations. The series is organized around three broad categories -- industries, sectors, and regions -- and falls under 23 subjects, such as Politics and Society, Mass Organizations, Foreign Relations, Economics, Transportation and Communication, Science and Technology, and National Defense and Military.
Digital Dictionary of Buddhism is a collaborative Internet site developed by user contributions and maintained by a professor of the University of Tokyo.
Buddhist terms are indexed by radicals, texts, temples, schools, places, etc. See the list of lexicographical and canonical references used in DDB at: http://www.buddhism-dict.net/ddb/references.html. It provides links to other useful Buddhist web resources. DDB allows unlimited-use of the contents with two-year subscription. USC is one of the thirty-one (31) subscribing academic institutions.
The most comprehensive dictionary for classical and modern Chinese. Provides definitions and explanations for 370,000 Chinese words. Includes quotations from many historical sources and is good for studying the changing meanings of Chinese words.
Developed by 古籍所, Guangxi University. Can search and browse by category 目錄 and index 索引. The largest encyclopedia in pre-modern China. Compiled in the early 18th century, it was intended to be a comprehensive survey of all branches of knowledge and includes a large number of illustrations.
A freely accessible relational database with biographical information (in both English and Chinese) about approximately 370,000 individuals as of April 2017, primarily from the 7th through 19th centuries.
A free database of place names and historical administrative units for the Chinese Dynasties. Provides a base GIS platform for researchers to use in spatial analysis or to visualize the historical divisions of China as digital maps.