Comparative Literature *: Find Books, Articles, and Films

Guide to USC Libraries Resources for Research in the Field of Comparative Literature

Searching the Libraries' Collections

Use the main search on the Libraries' website to search almost everything USC Libraries owns or subscribes to. Use more specific databases or searches on this page to narrow your search by discipline, format, and other considerations.

To search only for books, films, and journal titles (not articles or other shorter pieces), limit your search the Libraries' catalog.

Advanced Search


Use the Advanced Search feature to limit your search by subject, language, publication date, and type of publication. This example search would include books about Virginia Woolf, not books written by her.

Locating Books

Books on comparative literature topics can be found in multiple places in different libraries (including e-books), though most will be found in Doheny Memorial Library (which includes the Cinematic Arts, East Asian, and Music Libraries, along with Specialized Research Collections). Stack maps are available at the Circulation and Reference desks.Many older materials are kept in our off-campus facility, the Grand Avenue Library, and must be paged through the Libraries' online catalog.

For a map of the campus libraries, click here and then choose Libraries on the left.

IDD (Interlibrary Loan and Document Delivery)

Can't find what you're looking for?

Interlibrary loan (ILL) obtains articles, book chapters, and other documents from resources not owned or otherwise unavailable from USC. Document Delivery provides articles, book chapters, and other documents that are owned by USC, scanned and delivered to you via a link in an email.

Average turnaround time for article requests is 24-48 hours.

Average turnaround time for book or other physical item requests is 3-5 days.

Helping to Develop Our Collections

USC Libraries welcome the collaboration of disciplinary faculty in helping to build our physical and electronic collections.

Recommended Library Databases

Other Collections of Articles