Skip to main content

History, Western Europe *: Reference Works

This guide is intended to help any faculty, graduate, or undergraduate student find general resources in the area of West European history.

Reference Works - Print (Selected Titles)

Encyclopedia of European Peoples
"More than 600 alphabetical entries describe the origins, language, history, and culture of European ethnology. Entries range from Hominids and Vikings to modern nationalities such as Ukrainians and Spanish. Article length varies; a small Celtic tribe such as the Insubrians has an accessible one-paragraph summary, whereas there is a 25-page entry for the Irish. Lengthier articles are generally accompanied by maps showing invasions, migrations, tribal groupings, or dialect distribution; charts; black-and-white photos; sidebar information; and biographies of relevant figures..."  - School Library Journal

Encyclopedia of the Age of Imperialism, 1800-1914
"This set provides a comprehensive overview of the rise and decline of imperialist powers, the accompanying wars and treaties. the influential leaders, the cultural and philosophical rationales, and the peoples and places most affected. Recommended..." - Doug's Student Reference Room

Encyclopedia of the Age of Political Revolutions and New Ideologies, 1760-1815
“In a broad sense, the 'age of revolutions' began with the early tensions between America and Britain in the 1760s, and concluded with the conservative reactions to the revolutions of 1848. Revolutionaries, influenced by Enlightenment philosophies, attempted to overthrow or reform monarchies in favor of more liberal regimes and greater freedom, equality, and democracy. This work is a basic guide that emphasizes the revolutionary periods in America and France, the locations of the two most important and influential revolutions of the period..." - Choice

Enlightenment, Reawakening, and Revolution, 1660-1815
"...inspires awe....enormous diversity of of excellent scholars....stands out from rivals by its sheer scale....provide an effective structure....identification and development of themes is thoroughly successful....deeply impressive..." - Phillip Jenkins

Key Figures in Medieval Europe: An Encyclopedia
"The 587 entries were selected from the eight region-based volumes in the Routledge Encyclopedias of the Middle Ages series to provide a source for quick information about primary figures in Europe as a whole between about 500 and 1500. They consider people who influenced artistic, economic, intellectual, literary, political, religious, and social history. The signed articles include cross-references to other articles and primary and secondary bibliographies."  - Reference & Research Book News

Reference Works - Electronic (Selected Titles)

The Encyclopedia of the Romantic Era, 1760-1850
"A superb set one of the most important topics in Western thought and art. The encyclopedia gives students...an excellent introduction to the movement while allowing them to see it in its full scope. Highly recommended..." - Booklist

The Hutchinson Encyclopedia of the Renaissance
"This book views culture as part of the broader history of the Renaissance. Thus, the major political figures and events are included and their links to the period's culture made clear, ensuring that artistic activity is seen in its true context."