Skip to main content

History, Africa *: Reference Works

This guide is intended to help any faculty, graduate, or undergraduate student find resources in the area of African history.

Reference Works - Print (Selected Titles)

Encylopedia of Africa South of the Sahara
"A good encyclopaedia is a reliable reference resource which also seduces the reader to forget time and browse on and on, bringing on item after item; it should inspire, as this one does, as well as inform. These volumes will surely entrap those readers, for whom it is designed, 'who wish to learn about Africa'..." - P. W. T. Baxter Journal of the Royal Antropological Journal

Encyclopedia of African Peoples
"This handy resource is divided into four major sections: 'Peoples of Africa,' 'Culture and History,' 'Nations,' and 'Biographies.' 'Peoples of Africa' covers more than 1000 peoples while describing 200 major ethnic groups such as the Hausa, Maasai, and Zulu in greater detail. The 'Culture and History' section features the pictorial histories, ethnic distributions, and chronologies of North Africa, East Africa, West Africa, Central Africa, and Southern Africa.'Nations' covers countries from Algeria to Zimbabwe, which are described in terms of population, geography, economy, and recent historical events."

Encyclopedia of Twentieth-Century African History
"The focus of this dictionary-style work is the past century of African history, covering decades of tremendous change, including resistance to colonial rule and the reestablishment of African independence. Global forces that had an impact on the continent are also considered. ..."

Historical Dictionary of Pre-Colonial Africa
"This historical dictionary seeks to familiarize the reader with pre-colonial Africa, the Africa that began with the migration of the Bantu from their homeland in 500 B.C. and ended with European control in the 19th century. The volume seeks to familiarize readers with the culture, events, migration, and rulers of Africa from this time. The introduction provides a broad background of African history, followed by a chronology of the rise and fall of the many dynasties that ruled the great kingdoms of Egypt and Nubia, among others..."

Reference Works - Electronic (Selected Titles)

Encyclopedia of African History
"Covering the entire continent from Morocco, Libya, and Egypt in the north to the Cape of Good Hope in the south, and the surrounding islands from Cape Verde in the west to Madagascar, Mauritius, and Seychelles in the east, the Encyclopedia is an A-Z reference resource on the history of the entire African continent."

Key Events in African History: A Reference Guide
"Distinguished scholar and Africanist Falola surveys the complicated history of the African continent by focusing on 36 pivotal events that either caused or led to significant changes and developments in African social, political, and cultural life from around 40,000 B.C.E. to the collapse of apartheid in the 1990s. Included are such diverse topics as the growth of the ironworks, the spread of Islam and Christianity, the founding of Liberia, military coups, and refugee problems..."

New Enyclopedia of Africa
"This substantial expansion and reworking of the classic Encyclopedia of Africa South of the Sahara (1997) covers the entire continent, from the Europe-facing shores of the Mediterranean to the commercial bustle of Cape Town. The set addresses the entire history of African cultures from the pharaohs and the ancient civilizations of the south through the colonial era to the emergence of 53 independent countries, some of them, like Nigeria, newly emergent in world commerce and others deep in conflict (Sudan, Liberia, Congo)..."