Skip to main content

Careers: Find an Association

A library research resource for the USC Career Center

USC Career Center

The mission of the USC Career Center is to provide exceptional career services to all members of the Trojan Family. Our array of programs includes career counseling, workshops, company profile events, career panels, internships, job listings & searches, Trojan Network and Career Fairs.

Whether you’re sure of what you want to do after you leave USC, or are just beginning to think about what lies ahead, there’s something for you in the Career Center.

connectSC

ConnectSC Logo

Your online portal to jobs and internships

Includes access to Vault

Student login

Alumni login or register

Find an Association - BCRC

Professional associations can be very helpful in learning more about an industry or profession.  Although full access if often reserved for paid members, associations often provide information to the public in the form of summary reports press releases.  Examples of professional associations include Advertising Professionals of Los Angeles, the American Society of Cinematographers, the American Medical Association and the California Solar Energy Industries Association to name just a few.

Follow the steps below to locate a professional association. 

 1.  Go to the Business & Company Resource Center database

2.  Select the button for "Advanced Search"

3.  Go to the dropdown list for "Content Area" and select "Associations"

4.  Enter your search terms based on the choices provided in the three dropdown lists.  Try searching for a word that is found in the industry description or in the name of the association.  Also, you may wish to specify "USA" in "Country" field or you will be searching for international associations as well.  Try different combinations of search terms and keywords to find the association you need. 

SEE SCREENSHOT BELOW

Find an Association Search Box - BCRC

Gale Directory Library

To locate professional associations and other types of organizations, you can also search the Gale Directory Library available through the USC Libraries E-Resources.  This database contains the Encyclopedias of Associations (under "Organizations") as well as other reference works.

Head, Crocker Business Library and Accounting Library

Helga Haraldsson's picture
Helga Haraldsson
Contact:
610 Childs Way, JFF 108
Los Angeles, CA 90089
213 740-0050