Skip to main content

Holocaust Studies *: The Holocaust/Genocide Collection

This guide is intended to help any faculty, graduate, or undergraduate student find resources in the area of Holocaust Studies.

Other Useful Websites

The Holocaust/Genocide Collection is located in the Doheny Library basement, Room B-24.

It is a collection containing over 13,000 books dealing with genocide, with a particular emphasis on the Holocaust. Most of its books freely circulate.

Normally the room is kept locked. However, if you wish to browse the collection, borrow one of its circulating books or to make use of its reference collection, go first to the Circulation Desk of Doheny Library. You will need to show your USC ID card and then check out a key that will allow you to access the room. Books borrowed from collection are checked out at the Doheny Library Circulation Desk.

(Note: the Holocaust & Genocide Studies Collection is open to USC students, faculty,and staff only. If you are a non-USC person and need to make use of an item in the collection, go to the Doheny Library Circulation Desk and the desired material will be paged for you. Such items cannot leave the library; copy machines are available.)

Many unique and rare books in the Holocaust & Genocide Studies Collection are contained in its own special collections area that is kept under lock and key at all times. If you desire to make use of a book in this sub-collection, you need to submit a paging request by doing the following:

  • Go to Homer and find the desired book.
  • Click request this item.
  • Fill out the requested information.
  • Turn-over time for a paging request is usually one business day, sometimes less.
  • Once the book is received in Special Collections, you will be so informed by email.
  • All such books must be used in Special Collections.