Skip to main content

Intelligence and Counter-Intelligence: Government Information

This guide to research resources that support the study of intelligence and counter-intelligence in international affairs.

Intelligence Community Legal Reference Book - 2009

The Office of the Director of National Intelligence and the Office of General Counsel have posted their latest version of their Intelligence Community Legal Reference Book. or from http://www.dni.gov/reports.htm. This Summer 2009 edition is 949 pages and is chalk full of very useful and handy to have in one place documents such as the Constitution, various seminal national security legislation and executive orders and more. It is rounded out with a section of updated Intelligence Community and Government websites.

Government Information

Search Engines and Databases

  • GPO Access -- provides free online use of over 1,500 databases of Federal information in over 80 applications. Search or browse official, full-text information from the three branches of the Federal Government. Databases are updated based on their print equivalent and generally date back to 1994.
  • Homeland Security Digital Library -- composed of homeland security documents related to homeland security policy, strategy, and organizational management collected from a wide variety of sources. These include federal, state, tribal, and local government agencies, professional organizations, think tanks, academic institutions, and international governing bodies.
  • THOMAS -- launched in January of 1995, at the inception of the 104th Congress, this site is the source for federal legislative information. Search THOMAS for the full text of legislation for words or phrases or search by bill number. Searching Bill Summary & Status will retrieve information on "sponsor(s); cosponsor(s); official, short and popular titles; floor/executive actions; detailed legislative history; Congressional Record page references; bill summary; committee information; amendment information; subjects (indexing terms assigned to each bill); a link to the full-text versions of the bill; and, if the bill has been enacted into law, a link to the full text of the law on the Government Printing Office Web site.
  • U.S. Congressional Serial Set -- a full-text database of key publications of the United States Congress. It documents the official activities of the committees of the House and the Senate, including the journals, reports, and documents. In addition, through the nineteenth century the Serial Set also included publications of the executive departments relating to important public issues.

Agency Web Sites