Skip to main content

Intelligence and Counter-Intelligence: News and Information Portals

This guide to research resources that support the study of intelligence and counter-intelligence in international affairs.

News and Information Portals

  • Africa Intelligence -- a portal gathering exclusive, strategic news and actionable intelligence from five newsletters published by Indigo Publications, with contributions from over 100 correspondents spread across the globe.
  • ClandestineRadio.com -- online portal dedicated to the study of clandestine and subversive radio. Launched in 1996 the site has developed into a resource regularly used by radio monitors, academics and historians, journalists, and military and intelligence analysts to track psywar developments across the globe.
  • Current Digest of the (Post-)Soviet Press -- a full-text database that provides access to Russian-language press materials, carefully translated into English.
  • Electronic Information System for International Law -- a database for searching primary materials, authoritative web sites, and helpful research guides to international law on the Internet. Comprehensive and updated frequently.
  • Europa: Gateway to the European Union -- provides up-to-date coverage of European Union affairs and essential information on European integration. Users can consult all legislation currently in force or under discussion, access the websites of each of the EU institutions, and find out about the policies administered by the European Union under the powers devolved to it by the Treaties.
  • Foreign Affairs Online -- this web site directory has been specifically designed to assist students and researchers interested in international relations, international law, and U.S. foreign policy. It has an extensive group of links to general reference, map, and media resources, U.S. and foreign government websites, and websites related to human rights and international organizations. An excellent place to begin your search for scholarly resources on the Internet.
  • GlobalSecurity.org -- the leading source of background information and developing news stories in the fields of defense, space, intelligence, WMD, and homeland security. Launched in 2000, this site bills itself as the most comprehensive and authoritative online destination for those in need of both reliable background information and breaking news.
  • Global Terrorism Database -- an open-source database of information on terrorist events around the world from 1970 through 2007 (with annual updates planned for the future). The GTD includes systematic data on domestic as well as international terrorist incidents that have occurred during this time period and now includes more than 80,000 cases.
  • The Hague Justice Portal -- this is a gateway to information, news and research on the Hague organisations in the fields of international peace, justice and security. It improves access to the Hague courts, tribunals and organisations and encourages academic debate
  • INCORE Conflict Data Service -- a comprehensive and detailed database on conflicts and conflict-related issues worldwide.
  • Internatiional Crisis Group -- independent, non-partisan, source of analysis and advice to governments, and intergovernmental bodies like the United Nations, European Union and World Bank, on the prevention and resolution of deadly conflict.
  • International Relations and Security Network -- provides a wide range of comprehensive, balanced, and timely publications and resources to encourage the exchange of information among international relations and security professionals throughout the world who are working in think tanks, universities, governmental agencies, NGOs, and within the private sector.
  • Human Security Gateway -- a research and information database regrouping electronic and bibliographic resources on human security.
  • MideastWire.com -- offers daily translated briefs covering some of the key political, cultural, economic and opinion pieces appearing in the Arab media. The service covers news from all twenty-two Arab countries, Iran, and the Arab diaspora generally, with coverage that extends across the North Africa region as well as including the United Kingdom and other countries that host Pan-Arab media. The site  lso includes a fully searchable archive containing thousands of briefs coded by subject categories (women, judicial, energy etc), specific news sources (Al Hayat, Al Jazeera, Al Quds Al Arabi etc), countries, general topics (opinion, business etc.), and keywords.
  • Onlinenewspapers.com -- directory of newspapers published online throughout the world. Search by by region or alphabetically by country.
  • RadioStationWorld -- a worldwide directory of local radio stations on the web, radio station that offer streaming webcast services, and in depth listings of local radio broadcast.
  • Secrecy News -- a publication of the Federation of American Scientists that reports on new developments in government secrecy and provides public access to documentary resources on secrecy, intelligence and national security policy.
  • UNBISNET -- catalog of the United Nations publications and documents held at the UN Dag Hammarskjold Library and the UN Library at Geneva.  Also inckluded are commercial publications and other non-UN sources held at the Dag Hammarskjold Library. The coverage is from 1979 to the present but older documents are being added on a regular basis.

Descriptions of resources are adapted or quoted from vendor websites.