Skip to main content

Intelligence and Counter-Intelligence: Digital Archives

This guide to research resources that support the study of intelligence and counter-intelligence in international affairs.

Digital Documents and Archives

  • Constitution Finder -- a database that offers constitutions, charters, amendments, and other related documents. Nations of the world are linked to their constitutional text posted somewhere on the Internet.
  • Declassifed Documents Reference System -- provides full text access to formerly U.S. government classified documents that  are obtained as they are declassified. The documents emanate from a wide variety of government agencies including the CIA, Department of State, National Security Council, Department of Defense, FBI, etc. It is possible to search by subject, title words, issue date, and documents source.
  • Documents Relating to American Foreign Policy -- Lists of documents compiled by Vincent Ferraro, Ruth Lawson Professor of International Politics at Mt. Holyoke College.
  • Foreign Affairs Oral History Collection of the Association for Diplomatic Studies and Training -- site includes transcripts of interviews with U.S. diplomatic personnel that span the major diplomatic crises and issues that faced the United States during the second half of the 20th century and, as new interviews are added, will include developments in the 21st century.
  • Foreign Relations of the United States -- digital archive of the official documentary historical record of major U.S. foreign policy decisions that have been declassified and edited for publication by the State Department's Office of the Historian.
  • Multilaterals Project -- texts of international multilateral conventions and other instruments, including environmental agreements, and treaties on human rights, commerce and trade, laws of war and arms control, and other areas.
  • National Security Archive -- an independent non-governmental research institute and library located at George Washington University, the Archive collects and publishes declassified documents obtained through the Freedom of Information Act. The Archive also serves as a repository of government records on a wide range of topics pertaining to the national security, foreign, intelligence, and economic policies of the United States.
  • Presidential Library System -- a nationwide network of Presidential libraries beginning with Herbert Hoover each preserving and making accessible the papers, records, and other historical materials of U.S. Presidents
  • Public Diplomacy and Cultural Diplomacy -- a collection of research papers gathered and made accessible by Prof. Philip M. Taylor, Institute of Communication Studies, University of Leeds
  • United Nations Documents System -- official repository for documents published by the United Nations. The full text of parliamentary documents and official records from 1992 to present are accessible in all official languages of the United Nations. Full text of resolutions from all UN bodies are available from 1946 to the present.
  • Wikileaks--clearinghouse of classified diplomatic cables and other secret documents obtained by the organization and posted on the web. There is no search engine that allows full-text searching of the documents, but materials can be searched by date, country, or orginating embassy or government entity.

Descriptions of resources are adapted or quoted from vendor websites.