Skip to main content

Intelligence and Counter-Intelligence: Country Information

This guide to research resources that support the study of intelligence and counter-intelligence in international affairs.

Country Information

    • Country Indicators for Foreign Policy -- a project in collaboration with the Carlton University in Canada to enable more effective international engagement in failed and fragile states. The site includes a number of wide-ranging tools that encompass, among other things, the monitoring, forecasting, and evaluation of failed and fragile states, as well as the assessment of supporting policies intended to address the development, security, and economic challenges they represent.
    • Country Reports on Human Rights Practices -- annual reports submitted annually by the U.S. Department of State to the U.S. Congress i that provide a full and complete report regarding the status of internationally recognized human rights in all other foreign countries which are members of the United Nations. The reports cover internationally recognized individual, civil, political, and worker rights.
    • Country Reports on Terrorism -- U.S. law requires the Secretary of State to provide Congress, by April 30 of each year, a full and complete report on terrorism with regard to those countries and groups meeting criteria set forth in the legislation. This annual report is entitled Country Reports on Terrorism. Beginning with the report for 2004, it replaced the previously published Patterns of Global Terrorism.
    • Country Studies -- each study provides a description and analysis of the historical setting and the social, economic, political, and national security systems and institutions of countries throughout the world. At present, 101 countries and regions are covered spanning the decade 1988-98. Search engine can be used to find information across all countries or any combination of countries.
    • Countryrisk.com -- provides links to sites giving country background information, statistics, and country analysis resources that rate everything from levels of corruption to investment risks in countries worldwide.
    • Economist Intelligence Unit [EIU] Country Reports -- a source of business intelligence on political and economic trends in 180 countries. An overall profile of each country is provided annually and a current report is produced quarterly. Both include current detailed statistics.
    • Foreign Information by Country -- compiled by the University of Colorado Libraries, this site provides links to government agencies, background information, diplomatic relations, and other resources by topic for all of the countries of the world.
    • Human Development Report Country Factsheets -- site contains country-level data available for review and download from the United Nation's  annual Human Development Report.
    • Official Websites of National Governments -- provides links to the official websites of national governments. Information on nations not on this list can be found on the Unrepresented Nations and Peoples Organisation List of Members
    • Portals to the World -- contains links providing authoritative, in-depth information about the nations and other areas of the world. They are arranged by country or area with the links for each sorted into a wide range of broad categories. Sites are selected by subject specialists at the Library of Congress.
    • Worldwide Governments on the WWW -- one of the most extensive lists of international, national, regional, and local governmental and government-related Web servers. It covers governmental institutions on the Web, including parliaments, ministries, offices, law courts, embassies, city councils, public broadcasting corporations, central banks, multinational organizations, and political parties. Arranged in a hierarchical index organized by continent, country, and smaller divisions with thematic groupings such as heads of states, parliaments, political parties, elections, and currency.

    Descriptions of resources are adapted or quoted from vendor websites.