Skip to main content

Intelligence and Counter-Intelligence: Finding Articles in Databases

This guide to research resources that support the study of intelligence and counter-intelligence in international affairs.

Other Useful Databases

Multidisciplinary Databases

Related Social Science Databases


NOTE TO OFF-CAMPUS USERSFor directions and trouble-shooting tips on how to access the library's resources from off-campus, go here.

Broken Link? Let Us Know!

If you have trouble linking to a database, e-journal, or other online resource provided by the USC Libraries, GO TO THIS PAGE and report it to us so we can fix it.

Key Databases

Below are links to databases and electronic resources that support the study of international relations and its sub-disciplines. For a more comprehensive list of library databases, go here. Descriptions of resources are adapted or quoted from vendor websites.

  • AccessUN -- indexes the majority of United Nations documents and publications. Articles appearing in UN periodicals are individually indexed as well as bilateral and multilateral treaties in the UN Treaty Series.
  • America: History and Life -- database that covers the history of the United States and Canada. It includes key English-language historic journals, selected historic journals from major countries, state and local history journals, and selected relevant journals in the social sciences and humanities.
  • Columbia International Affairs Online [CIAO] -- provides the full text of a wide range of scholarship books, working papers from universities and research institutes, occasional papers series from NGOs, foundation-funded research projects, and proceedings from conferences.
  • Foreign Broadcast Information Service Index -- an index to the Daily Report translations of broadcasts, news agency transmissions, newspapers, periodicals and government statements from nations around the world.
  • Historical Abstracts -- this database includes key history journals from major countries, as well as relevant selected journals from the social sciences and humanities. All abstracts are in English.
  • Public Affairs Information Services [PAIS] -- indexes selective subjects and bibliographic access to periodicals, books, hearings, reports, gray literature, government publications, Internet resources, and other publications from 120 countries. Includes historical coverage from 1915 to the present.
  • RAND Corporation Documents -- a search interface for research reports published by the RAND Corporation, a non-profit think tank focused on researching issues related to, among other things, international security, terrorism, diplomacy, and related topics. Most reports are avaialble full-text or can be found using the library's HOMER catalog.
  • SourceOECD -- publications portal of the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD) and consists of three sections that include books and reports by theme, periodicals, and statistics. Access is available for titles published from January 1998 onwards.
  • Statesman's Yearbook Online -- a comprehensive survey of the politics, economies, social institutions, religions, natural resources, etc., of all the countries of the world in a fully searchable database, which is updated regularly throughout the year.
  • World News Connection -- an online news service that offers an extensive array of translated and English-language news and information from around the world compiled by the U.S. government.
  • Worldwide Political Science Abstracts -- provides indexing of the international journal literature in political science and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, and public administration and policy. Over 1,700 titles are monitored for coverage and, of these, 67% are published outside of the United States.