Skip to main content

USC Shoah Foundation Visual History Archive: Rwandan Tutsi Genocide testimony overview

Established in 1994 to preserve the audio-visual histories of survivors and other witnesses of the Holocaust, the USC Shoah Foundation maintains one of the largest video digital libraries in the world: the Visual History Archive (VHA).

1994 Genocide Against the Tutsi in Rwanda

The Visual History Archive contains the testimonies of 64 survivors and rescuers of the 1994 Genocide Against the Tutsi in Rwanda. They were recorded in Rwanda (52) and the United States (12) by the Kigali Genocide Memorial Center (49) and by the USC Shoah Foundation (15) between 2004 and 2011. The interview language is either Kinyarwanda (54) or English (10); all the Kinyarwanda testimonies have English subtitles. For more information on this collection, please see the USC Shoah Foundation website

 

Selected Indexing Terms

“Ibyitso”

“Iringaniza”

anti-Tutsi arrests

anti-Tutsi manhunts

anti-Tutsi prejudice

anti-Tutsi propaganda

anti-Tutsi roundups

attitudes toward Burundi and/or Burundians

Bisisero Hills Massacres (April-June 1994)

bourgmestres (Rwanda)

childhood anti-Tutsi experiences

Coalition Pour la Défence de la République

Death of President Juvénal Habyarimana (April 6, 1994)

Ecole Technique Officielle and Nyanza Massacre (April 11-12, 1994)

Forces Armées Rwandaises soldiers

Gacaca courts

Gatwaro Stadium Massacre (April 18-19, 1994)

grenade attacks

Hutu communities

Interahamwe militia

Kibuye Catholic Church and Home St. Jean Massacre (April 17, 1994)

Kigali (Rwanda)

machete attacks

Ntarama Church Massacre (April 15, 1994)

Nyabarongo River (Rwanda)

post-genocide reconciliation

post-Rwandan Tutsi Genocide reflections

Radio Télévision Libre des Mille Collines

roadblocks

Rwanda 1994 (April 7 - July 19)

Rwandan Patriotic Army

Rwandan Patriotic Front

Rwandan Tutsi Genocide faith issues

Rwandan Tutsi Genocide preparation awareness

Rwandan Tutsi Genocide-related psychological reactions

Saint Famille Church (Kigali, Rwanda)

school anti-Tutsi prejudice

travel permits

Tutsi communities

Tutsi persecution bystander responses

Tutsi prisoners

Tutsi property attacks

Tutsi-non Tutsi relations

Twa communities

United Nations Assistance Mission for Rwanda

 

Selected Bibliography

African Rights. Rwanda: Death, Despair, and Defiance. London: African Rights, 1995. Print.

Des Forges, Alison. "Leave none to tell the story": Genocide in Rwanda. New York: Human Rights Watch, 1999. Print.

Fletcher, Luke. “Turning Interhamwe, Individual and Community Choices in the Rwandan Genocide.” Journal of Genocide Research, 9.1 (2007): 25-48. Print.

Fujii, Lee Ann. Killing Neighbors: Webs of Violence in Rwanda. Ithaca: Cornell University Press, 2009. Print.

Guichaoua, André. Les crises politiques au Burundi et au Rwanda, 1993-1994 : analyses, faits et documents. Villeneuve d'Ascq: Université des sciences et technologies de Lille, Faculté des sciences économiques et sociales; Paris: Diffusion Karthala, 1995. Print.

Guichaoua, André, and René Dégni-Ségui. Rwanda, de la guerre au génocide: les politiques criminelles au Rwanda (1990-1994). Paris: la Découverte, 2010. Print.

Kimonyo, Jean-Paul. Rwanda's Popular Genocide: A Perfect Storm. Boulder, Colorado: Lynne Rienner Publishers, 2016. Print.

Lemarchand, René. “Rwanda: the State of Research.Online Encyclopedia of Mass Violence. 27 May 2013. Web.

Mamdani, Mahmood. When Victims Become Killers: Colonialism, Nativism, and the Genocide in Rwanda. Princeton, N.J: Princeton University Press, 2001. Print.

Prunier, Gérard. The Rwanda Crisis, 1959-1994: History of a Genocide. London: Hurst & Co, 1995. Print.

Straus, Scott. The Order of Genocide: Race, Power, and War in Rwanda. Ithaca: Cornell University Press, 2006. Print.

Verwimp, Philip. Peasants in Power: The Political Economy of Development and Genocide in Rwanda. Dordrecht; New York: Springer, 2013. eBook [USC Network Access]

Viret, Emmanuel. “Rwanda - A Chronology (1867-1994).” Online Encyclopedia of Mass Violence. 1 March 2010. Web.

Visual History Archive Curator

Crispin Brooks's picture
Crispin Brooks
Contact:
DML 232, 213-740-5463
Website / Blog Page