Skip to main content

USC Shoah Foundation Visual History Archive: Search the VHA

Established in 1994 to preserve the audio-visual histories of survivors and other witnesses of the Holocaust, the USC Shoah Foundation maintains one of the largest video digital libraries in the world: the Visual History Archive (VHA).

Search the Visual History Archive

USC students/staff/faculty

Your computer must be connected to the USC Network.

Go to: http://vha.usc.edu 

Off campus: First connect to the USC Network by signing into the Virtual Private Network (VPN). (Note: the Library Proxy does not grant access to the Visual History Archive; off-campus users must sign into the VPN.) Download the VPN here, then find it in your Start menu under "Cisco." Then go to: http://vha.usc.edu. The speed of the internet connection will determine how well the video plays - Broadband connection recommended.

System Requirements:

PC: Windows Vista, 7, and 8 with Google Chrome, Internet Explorer 9 or above, or Firefox 22 or above

Mac: Mac OSX 10.6 or above with Safari 5.1.1 or above or Google Chrome

 

Visitors to USC  

To view 1,800 video testimonies on the public internet and to conduct searches on the entire Visual History Archive, please see the Visual History Archive Online.

To search and view the circa 55,000 audiovisual testimonies available in the Visual History Archive, please make an appointment here at USC Special Collections. If coming to USC is not possible, please consult the list of the Visual History Archive locations worldwide and make an appointment at the site nearest you.

 

Thesaurus

USCSF Indexing Term Thesaurus (PDF)

 

Visual History Archive Curator

Crispin Brooks's picture
Crispin Brooks
Contact:
DML 232, 213-740-5463
Website / Blog Page