Skip to main content

Biological and Life Sciences*: Home

Welcome

Please note the new direct URL: http://libguides.usc.edu/biology

Science & Engineering Library

Life Sciences: Getting Started

Two Databases specifically for the broad scope of life sciences:
Biosis Citation Index
* World's most comprehensive database for life sciences.

Zoological Record
* Indexes more than 5,000 serials, as well as books, conferences, and reports.

 
Other Databases, but still excellent for life sciences:
MEDLINE (Ovid)
* Over 3,900 journals in the medical sciences; much is pertinent to general life sciences.
 
PubMed@USC
* Version of Medline linked to USC paid resources, if you wish to use this version of MEDLINE.
 
SciFinder
* World's most comprehensive chemistry database; much is pertinent to life sciences.
 
ProQuest Research Library
*
Multi-disciplinary, covers dozens of subject areas, including life sciences.
* Indexes thousands of general and scholarly journals; much is full-text.
* An excellent starting place, particularly if one isn't sure where to begin
one's research.
 
Web of Science
*Part of the Web of Knowledge gateway.
*Especially strong in citation tracking.
 
Illustrata Natural Sciences
* A unique database that allows searching of tables and charts within journal articles, primarily from 2000 to date.

Subject Librarian

Michael Qiu
Contact:
Science and Engineering Library, SSL 304
Office Hours by Appointment
Email: qium@usc.edu
Phone: 213-740-2214
Website / Blog PageSkype Contact