Skip to main content

Dance *: Reference Works

This guide is intended to help any faculty, graduate, or undergraduate student find resources in the area of dance.

Reference Works - Print (Selected Titles)

International Dictionary of Ballet
"More than 750 entries make up this comprehensive review of the various elements of the world of ballet. The dictionary is both historical and international in scope. It covers the ballet world from its beginnings in Renaissance Europe to its present-day manifestations in countries as diverse as Cuba and China. There is, however, an emphasis on ballet in Russia, Europe, and North America, areas where it developed and flourished. A few seminal figures or works of modern dance are included..."

International Dictionary of Modern Dance
"The modern in modern dance is an attitude, not a time period. In the late 19th century, its pioneers broke with more traditional forms of dance (e.g., classical ballet) and devised a new dance vocabulary. Since then, modern dance artists have invented new forms, re-invented old forms, and generally turned Terpsichore on her ear. In the familiar style of other St. James performing arts reference books, alphabetically arranged, signed essays treat modern dance schools, artists, companies..."

International Encyclopedia of Dance
"Choreographers, balletomanes, dance historians, Fred Astaire fanatics--all will covet this encyclopedia for its handy assessment of great works and global dance styles, the unrepeatable feats and the motivating ideas of earlier generations." - Wall Street Journal

The Oxford Dictionary of Dance
"This single-volume dictionary offers amazingly comprehensive coverage of the world of dance. Within its 25,000 entries, readers can find everything from a three-line explanation of 'fado' to a three-page essay about Russia, the USSR, and ballet. Choreography, performers, composers, designers, companies, institutions, specific works and productions, terminology, films, and even dance shoes are all included. Longer essays address dance by country, historical period, and form..."