Skip to main content

Public Administration & Policy *: Citation Tracking

This guide provides information and links in the field of public administration and related sub-disciplines

Style Manuals

Below are links to guides to how cite books, articles, and other materials:

Saving Your Citations with Refworks

  • Organize and store your citations
  • Share your citations with other researchers
  • Create quick bibliographies
  • Access your citations online from anywhere

 To get started, go to the Refworks guide here. 

Journal Contents Alert Services

In general, "alert services" refer to services or features included with scholarly databases that send you email notifications when something of interest to you has been published or added to a database. These can be on specific topics or from specific journals. Listed below are multidisciplinary content alert services that notify you when a new issue of a journal is published.

  • CiteULike -- currently has details of over 13,000 journals. You can search or browse for journal titles, and then scan recent articles in these journals.  If you know aboutt RSS feeds, you can get a CiteULike feed for each journal table of contents. Access to the full text will depend on institutional or personal subscriptions. Registration is free.
  • My Favorite Journals -- this service allows you can select journals of interest from over 10,000 titles, and these are then added to ‘My Favorite Journals’, then you can select any of these favorites to view the latest Table of Contents.  Access to the full text will depend on institutional or personal subscriptions. Registration is free.
  • ticTOCs -- covers over 12,500 journal table of contents from more than 430 publishers. You can search for journal titles, view the latest  table of contents for each journal, link to the full text of around 390,000 articles (where institutional or personal subscription allows), export table of content feeds to popular feedreaders, and select and save journal titles in order to view future table of contents (you need to register to ensure your ‘MyTOCs’ are permanently saved). Registration is free.

Citation Tracking

Citation tracking is a way to trace the scholarly impact of a specific research study or author's work. It can be an effective way to use a "landmark" or influential article to find more recent, related articles that cite that article. It also can be an effective way to track who has subsequently cited the work of a leading scholar in a particular field.

Databases/Search Engines