Skip to main content

Cinematic Arts *: Warner Bros. Archives

The Cinematic Arts Library is located on the ground floor of the Edward L. Doheny Jr. Memorial Library. The Cinematic Arts Collection supports teaching and research through the Doctoral and post-graduate levels.

Contact Info

Sandra Garcia-Myers
Director of Archival Collections
Phone: (213) 740-8383

Overview

Presented to USC by Warner Communications in 1977, the USC Warner Bros. Archives is the largest single studio collection in the world. It is the only collection to bring production, distribution and exhibition records together to document the activities of a vertically integrated studio. The making of many classic films such as The Jazz SingerCasablanca and Rebel without a Cause is documented from story purchase through theatrical release and chronicled down to the daily contributions of writers, directors, producers and actors.

The USC Warner Bros. Archives contains the records of Warner Bros. Pictures Inc. and its motion picture-related subsidiaries (including First National and Vitagraph). The records document the period from 1918 (the release of the brothers’ first major feature film) through 1968 (the sale of the studio to Seven Arts). Also included are extensive production records for Warner Bros. television series from 1955-1968. The holdings include:

  • Legal, production, story and publicity files
  • Correspondence, memoranda and documents
  • Scripts, treatments, outlines and synopses
  • Publicity and historical stills
  • Film music scores, orchestral parts and original sketches
  • Art department stills and set drawings
  • Animation drawings and backgrounds
  • Stanley-Warner theater chain exhibition records

Materials may be viewed by appointment only. Reading Room hours are 10AM through 4PM, Tuesdays through Fridays. Please contact Curator for an appointment.

The Warner Bros. Archives is managed by the School of Cinematic Arts. For more information, please visit the USC School of Cinematic Arts.