Skip to main content

Classics*: Journal Articles & Databases

Guide to finding materials on Classical Studies

Interdisciplinary Databases

Major Databases in Classics

Encyclopedia for Ancient History

"The Encyclopedia of Ancient History is the only comprehensive collection of twenty-first century scholarship available on the entire ancient Mediterranean world. Our board of experienced and internationally diverse editors has collected over 5,000 original entries spanning the late Bronze Age through the seventh century CE. Entries extend to all Mediterranean civilizations, including the Near East and Egypt, and represent an unprecedented level of coverage of the ancient world. This online version updates twice annually; new entries added each summer and winter. To search for articles, please use the Advanced Search Tool. " [quoted from "About this reference work] Published by Wiley.

Gnomon Online

A database for ancient history, classical philology, and archaeology, this is an international bibliographical index to monographs, journal articles, conference papers, essays in collections, and dissertations in many languages. It can be searched from 1990-present by subject, author, keyword, and/or publication. Words within the citation are linked to additional articles. Includes a thesaurus that bridges the gap between English and German terms common to classical studies. In English, French, and German. Produced by the publisher of the journal Gnomon (Doheny Journal Stacks, PA3.G6).
Complements L'Année Philologique.

L' Année Philologique
Article and book review database dealing with all aspects of classical philology. Also covers philosophy, history, religion, science, and social theory of the Greek and Roman world.  Contains v.1-80 (1924-2009)
The print version is available in the Doheny Classics Section, Call no. Z7016.M35A

Library of Latin Texts (LLT-A)
Covers all works from the classical period  (texts come from the /Bibliotheca scriptorium Romanorum Teubneriana/Bibliotheca Teubneriana Latina I).
Also contains the patristic Latin literature, medieval literature, and Neo-Latin literature (to 1965).

Loeb Classical Library

Online version of the foundational collection of Greek and Latin literature.

New Jacoby Online
New edition of the 856 fragmentary historians that comprise F. Jacoby's Die Fragmente der griechischen Historike, Parts I-III, with significant additions.  Due to be completed in 2017.

New Pauly Online (Brill)
The online equivalent of the print edition of both New Pauly and Neue Pauly. This link leads to the catalog which provides a link to full text..

Oxford Scholarship Online
An excellent source of scholarly research on a wide variety of topics, Oxford Scholarship Online has a section devoted to Classical Studies.

Projekt DYABOLA
DYABOLA provides access to subject catalogs of publications on the history of art and the ancient world. The most important is the Realkatalog des Deutschen Archäologischen Instituts Rom, the most comprehensive database for classical archaeology, dating back to 1956. Indexes books, festschrift, journals, and collected works on antiquities, art, and archaeology in the Mediterranean world from antiquity through the early Medieval period.
Check the box that says "IP-Access," then click "Start" button. You will see a list of the databases to which USC subscribes; click the flag for the language you want.

Thesaurus Linguae Graecae
The TLG® was founded to digitize the entire corpus of Greek literature from Homer to the fall of Byzantium in AD 1453.  Now includes over 10,00 works by more than 4,000 authors and is fully searchable.
Includes the Liddell-Scott-Jones Greek-English Lexicon.

TOCS-IN
Tables of content from nearly 200 classics, near Eastern studies, and religion journals. Only about 15% of the articles have links to the full-text or an abstract.

Specialized Classics Databases

Dyabola Help

Youtube Video Tutorials on Dyabola from the Stephen Chan Library of Fine Arts at NYU