Skip to main content

Communication Studies *: Conference Proceedings & White Papers

Research Guide for Communication Studies

Papers

PapersInvited: Contains detailed information & deadlines about calls for papers for forthcoming conferences and special issues of scholarly journals. These calls for papers are issued by professional bodies, journal editors and other conference organizers in all disciplines and from all over the world. Serving as an alerting service for researchers, scholars and students seeking opportunities to present and publish their research, it contains approximately 10,000 conferences yearly.

 

Think Tank Papers

Rand Reports : Think tank reports on arts, education, national security, and terrorism.

Conference Proceedings

Proceedings First:  Citations of every congress, symposium, conference, exposition, workshop and meeting received at The British Library

Web of Knowledge: Conference Proceedings Citation Index - Science (CPCI-S) &  Conference Proceedings Citation Index - Social Sciences & Humanities (CPCI-SSH)

Digital Publishing from the Scholarly Community

eScholarship offers a robust scholarly publishing platform that enables departments, research units, publishing programs, and individual scholars associated with the University of California to have direct control over the creation and dissemination of the full range of their scholarship. UC-affiliated scholars, editors, and research unit administrators can publish the following original works in eScholarship: Journals, Books, Working Papers, Conference Proceedings, Seminar/Paper Series. eScholarship also continues to provide deposit and dissemination services for previously published articles or "postprints."

OAIster
OIAster's goal is to "create a collection of freely available, difficult-to-access, academically-oriented digital resources that are easily searchable by anyone." Includes over 3,000,000 records from 327 institutions.

 

Scientific & Technical Grey Literature

Adapted from CSULB Gray Literature Research guide located at http://www.csulb.edu/library/subj/gray_literature/

 DOE's Scientific and Technical INFORMATION BRIDGE
"Full-text documents produced and made available by the Department of Energy National Laboratories and grantees from 1995" to date.   Select Easy Search or Advanced Search.

lanl.arXiv.org ePrint archive
This is a huge "e-print service in the fields of physics, mathematics, non-linear science, computer science and quantitative biology maintained by Cornell University."

Networked Computer Science Technical Reference Library
NCSTRL is a database of full-text computer science technical reports, mostly from universities, and also from some research centers.

Virtual Technical Reports Center
A good place to start if you are looking for preprints and technical reports from around the world, by institution.  This site lists hundreds of gray literature producing agencies.

Hewlett Packard Laboratories Technical Reports
This site has HP Labs technical reports from 1990 to the present.  Topics include computer science, communication networks, and applied mathematics.

Jet Propulsion Laboratory Technical Report Server
JPL is the chief NASA center dedicated to planning, creating, and running unmanned space mission for the purpose of exploring the solar system.

NTRS: NASA Technical Reports Server
This server provides access to abstracts and citations of unclassified NASA technical reports, as well as NACA (NASA's predecessor) technical reports, arXiv Physics Eprint Server, BioMed Central, and the Energy Citation Database (OSTI).  Also included is some open (i.e., non-gray) literature.

Energy Technology Data Exchange
Get the latest energy-related research from this site. Registration (free) is required.  "Includes information on all environmental impact of energy production and use, including climate change; energy R&D; energy policy; nuclear, coal, hydrocarbon and renewable energy technologies and more." Search 3,3500,000 records and 160,000 full text documents.

Scientific and Technical Information Network
Use to search the public file for technical reports, from 1974 to the present. This will retrieve unclassified technical reports of interest to the defense community, from various sources.  Some reports have full text online.

New York Academy of Medicine: Grey Literature
Use to find medical and health science related grey literature.  Website includes a list of Grey Literature Producing Organizations and a quarterly Grey Literature Report with new resources.

Agricultural Online Access (Agricola)
"This database administrated by the National Agricultural Library and provides access to records of articles, chapters, reports, and reprints, encompassing all aspects of agriculture and allied disciplines."

US Army Corps of Engineers, Publications
"The only repository for all official USACE engineering regulations, circulars, manuals, and other documents".

Subject Guide

Eduardo Tinoco's picture
Eduardo Tinoco
Contact:
Accounting Building
3660 Trousdale Parkway
Room 234D
Los Angeles, CA
90089
213 740 9167
Website / Blog Page