Skip to main content

Japanese Studies *: Special Collection: Posters of Taishō-Early Shōwa Japan

General research guide for Japan/ Japanese studies, consisting of English and Japanese sources.

Thumbnails

1-1 Tōyō Kisen
Children on board
1-2 Tōyō Kisen
Woman with a fan
2-1 Ōsaka Shōsen
Goddess on horseback 1
2-3 Ōsaka Shōsen
Woman in red kimono
3-1 Nippon Yūsen
Three ukiyo-e women
3-2 Nippon Yūsen
Steamship
4 Nan'yō Yūsen
Bird
5-1 Pacific Mail
Woman with an umbrella
5-2 Pacific Mail
American flag
1-1 Mantetsu
Map of South Manchuria and Korea 1
2-1 Mantetsu
Two boys
3 Mantetsu
Rainbows
4 Mantetsu
Pagoda
5 Mantetsu
Temple
6 Santō Tetsudō
Cranes
7 Chōsen Sōtokufu
Map of Korea
8 Tetsudoin Un'yukyoku
Crane
9 Tetsudōshō
Mt. Fuji
10 JTB
Five-story pagoda
11 Chinese Gov Railways
Steam train
1-1 Teishinshō
Candle
1-2 Teishinshō
Riverboats
2-1 Teishinshō
Laborer
2-2 Teishinshō
Lilies
2-3 Teishinshō
Mountaineer
2-4 Teishinshō
Hand holding a coin
1 Chishima-ya
Cuttlefish
2 Asai Shiten
White crane
3 Tōkyō Tsukiji Kappan
Goddess
4 G. Kumazawa & Co.
Woman with binoculars
5 Nippon Shuzō
Woman in blue kimono
6-1 Dai Nippon Seitō
Woman in kimono with roses
6-2 Dai Nippon Seitō
Woman in black kimono
6-3 Dai Nippon Seitō
Goddess on horseback
6-4 Dai Nippon Seitō
Woman in black kimono with an ornamental hairpin
7 Nakayama Taiyodō
Woman with an ink bottle
8 Kojima Inga Seikan
Four women
9 Taiheiyō Kaisan
Woman in a chair
1 Graphic Art Exposition
Insatsu Bunka Tenrankai
2 Aero Show
Airplane
3-1 Tokyo Peace Exhibition
Goddess
3-2 Tokyo Peace Exhibition
Goddess with doves

Posters of Taishō-Early Shōwa Japan

Shown here are Japanese posters from the Taishō-early Shōwa era held by East Asian Library. To the right is a listing of all the forty-five posters in the collection. Below is a slideshow of some of the posters. For a closer view, click on the image. You can also view them at a higher resolution from the the USC Digital Library or Pinterest.

The collection comprises five groups:

Slideshow Images

Timeline

Meiji
(1868-1912)

Taishō
(1912-1926)

Early Shōwa
 (1926-

 

1915

1920

1925

1930

1935

 

Steamship

Steamship

 

 

 

Railway

-----

-----

Railway

 

Teishinshō

-----

-----

-----

Teishinshō

Commercial

-----

Commercial

 

 

 

Expo

 

 

 

Workshop

Sainsbury Institute for the Study of Japanese Arts and Cultures

Workshop: Tōyō Shumi (Oriental taste) in Imperial Japan

Friday, 14 June 2013

Printing Companies; Artists; Provenance; Subjects

Printing companies

  • Yoshida Insatsujo 吉田印刷所 (Tokyo)
    Expo posters (1)

Artists


  • Steamship posters (1)

  • Steamship posters (1)

  • Teishinshō posters (2)
  • 北斗
    Commercial posters (1)

  • Machida, Ryūyō 町田隆要
    Steamship posters (2)

The Posters of Taishō-Early Shōwa Japan is a part of poster collections held by the USC Libraries. (The other poster collections are not yet digitized.) These posters were collected over a period of time. They are now stored in an off-site storage facility. Listed below are these poster collections each with the library record.

Held by East Asian Library:

Held by Cinematic Arts Library:

Held by the Special Collections:


Subjects

  • Posters, Japanese  20th century
  • Commercial art – Japan – History – 20th century
  • Printing – Japan – History
  • Japan – History – Taisho period, 1912-1926
  • JapanHistoryShōwa period, 1926-1989

Additional References

List

Listed below in the left column are issuing bodies of the posters with a coverage date of their posters and references, and a list of posters with their ID number, title, and issued date in the right column.

Steamship Travel Posters

1

東洋汽船株式会社
Tōyō Kisen Kabushiki Kaisha = Oriental Steam-ship Company (1896-1940)

2 大阪商船株式会社
Ōsaka Shōsen Kabushiki Kaisha = Osaka Mercantile Steamship Co., Ltd. (1893-1939)
3 日本郵船株式会社
Nippon Yūsen Kabushiki Kaisha = Japan Mail Steamship Co. (1893-1940)
4 南洋郵船株式会社
Nan'yō Yūsen Kabushiki Kaisha = South Sea Mail S.S. Co. Ltd. (1914-1935)
5 Pacific Mail Steamship Company (1867-1925)

Railway Travel Posters

1 南満州鉄道株式会社
Minami Manshū Tetsudō Kabushiki Kaisha = South Manchuria Railway Co. (1906-1945)
2 山東鉄道. 青島守備軍民政部鉄道部
Santō Tetsudō. Chintao Shubigun Minseibu Tetsudōbu = Shantung Railway Administration in the Chintao Garrison Army (1914-1922)

3 朝鮮総督府鉄道局
Chōsen Sōtokufu Tetsudōkyoku = Chosen Railways of the Governor-General of Korea (1925-1943)
4 鉄道院運輸局
Tetsudoin Un'yukyoku = Transportation Bureau of the Department of Railways (1908-1920)
5 鉄道省
Tetsudōshō (1920-1943)
6 Japan Tourist Bureau (1912-1941)
7 Chinese Government Railways (1939-1945?)

Posters by the Ministry of Communications (Teishinshō 逓信省)

1 逓信省
Teishinshō = Ministry of Communications (1885-1943)
簡易保険 Kan'i hoken = Life insurance (1916-1943)
貯蓄, 貯金 Chokin, chochiku = Savings (1915-1943)


Posters of Commercial Products and Companies

1

千島屋商店
Chishima-ya Shoten (1900-1924?)

2 浅井支店
Asai Shiten (1920-1928)
3 東京築地活版製造所
Tōkyō Tsukiji Kappan Seizōsho = Tokyo Tsukiji Type Foundry, Ltd. (1872-1938)
4 G. Kumazawa & Co. (1900-1940)
5

日本酒造株式会社
Nippon Shuzō Kabushiki Kaisha (1915-1923)

6 大日本精糖株式会社
Dai Nippon Seitō Kabushiki Kaisha (1906-1943)

7

中山太陽堂
Nakayama Taiyodō

8

小島印画製缶有限公司
Kojima Inga Seikan Yūgen Kōshi = Shanghai Industrial & Trading Co., Ltd., (Shanghai office of the Japanese firm, Kojima Lithographic Co., Ltd.) (1916-1922)

9

太平洋海産株式会社
Taiheiyō Kaisan Kabushiki Kaisha = Pacific Marine Products Co. (1900-1941)

 

Expo Posters

1 印刷文化展覧会
Insatsu Bunka Tenrankai = Graphic Art Exposition (Sep. 25, 1921-Oct. 25, 1921)

2

航空博覧会
Kūkō Hakurankai = First Aero Show (Mar. 15, 1921-May 13, 1921)

3

平和記念東京博覧会
Heiwa Kinen Tōkyō Hakurankai = Tokyo Peace Exhibition (Mar. 10, 1922-July 31, 1922)